Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Edmondo Quattrocchi Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Quattrocchi, Edmondo.
Title: Edmondo Quattrocchi Papers
Dates: 1919-1962
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Italian sculptor. Collection includes photographs, printed material, subject files, correspondence.
Language: Majority in English, one article in French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edmondo Quattrocchi (1889-1966) was an Italian sculptor known for his monumental figures. He worked primarily in bronze and marble.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edmondo Quattrocchi Papers consists of photographs, correspondence, clippings, programs and other memorabilia. Items relating to a particular piece of work is collected together, regardless of type. The material relating to his bust of Frederick MacMonnies includes a letter from MacMonnies to Henry Ridgely Carter, which reads, "Dear Mr. Carter, In case of my death, Mr. Edmondo Quattrocchi is the man to replace me, if you can induce him to undertake the work."


Arrangement of the Collection

As received from donor.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lawrie, Lee, 1877-1963.
MacMonnies, Frederick William, 1863-1937.
Quattrocchi, Edmondo.

Subjects

Bronze sculpture, Italian.
Marble sculpture, Italian.
Portrait sculpture, Italian.
Sculptors -- Italy -- 20th century.
Sculpture, Italian.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edmondo Quattrocchi Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edmondo Quattrocchi, 1965.


Table of Contents

Subject files


Inventory

Subject files
SC 596 Articles about 1919, 1932, 1948, 1960, 1961 - includes an article in National Sculpture Review, Winter 1961-62
SC 596 Benjamin Franklin statue 1938, undated - photocopy of clipping, two photographs
SC 596 Frederick MacMonnies bust 1927, 1933, 1938, 1958 - photographs, several letters of praise, including one from MacMonnie
SC 596 George Westinghouse bust 1957 - clipping, photograph, program from dedication, envelope printed with photo of bust
SC 596 Sperry Award 1955, undated - photograph of medal, press release, letter of congratulations
SC 596 Wendell Willkie bust 1947, undated - clipping, photograph, invitation and program for unveiling
SC 596 Miscellaneous photographs - photos of Quattrochi in his studio and of various of his works