Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Brenda Putnam Illustrations

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Putnam, Brenda, 1890-1975.
Title: Brenda Putnam Illustrations
Dates: undated
Quantity: 6 items.
Abstract: Collection contains six original pen and ink illustrations by American sculptor Brenda Putnam, done for an edition of John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress adapted for children by Edgar White Burrill.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Brenda Putnam (1890-1975) was an American sculptor author known for her garden figures and portrait busts. Like many artists of her time she did work under the auspices of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) during the Depression.

Edgar White Burrill was a literary critic and lecturer. He performed dramatic radio readings during the 1920s and 1930s, and wrote the play Master Skylark, about Shakespeare and his times.

Pilgrim's Progress (1678) is a Christian allegory written by John Bunyan. It is considered an important and influential work of English literature, has been translated into more than 200 languages, and has never been out of print.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Brenda Putnam Illustrations contains six original pen and ink illustrations for a children's edition of John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, adapted by Edgar White Burrill. It is unclear whether the edition was ever published.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center is also the repository of the Brenda Putnam Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bunyan, John, 1628-1688. -- Pilgrim's progress.
Burrill, Edgar White, 1883-
Putnam, Brenda, 1890-1975.

Subjects

Allegories -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Drawings.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Brenda Putnam Illustrations,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1967.


Table of Contents

Artwork


Inventory

Artwork
Package 1 Drawings, pen and ink (6 items)