Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Protestant Churchman Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Protestant Churchman.
Title: Protestant Churchman Correspondence
Dates: 1846-1859
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence to the editor(s) of The Protestant Churchman, a 19th century weekly publication
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

According to the American Phrenological Journal and Life Illustrated, a Repository of Science, Literature and General Intelligence (Samuel R. Wells, New York:1868), The Protestant Churchman was "a handsome quarto weekly sheet devoted to the advocacy of evangelical truth against ritualism...Persons interested in the discussion of High Church, Low Church, and Church Union will be pleased with [it]...a high-toned first-class religious journal." (Vols. 47 and 48, p. 197).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Protestant Churchman Correspondence consists of letters submitted to The Protestant Churchman, a 19th century weekly publication. The letters were evidently intended for publication.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Associated Titles

The protestant churchman.

Subjects

Church history -- 19th century.
Religious newspapers and periodicals -- United States -- 19th century.

Places

United States -- Religion -- 19th century.
United States -- Religious life and customs -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Protestant Churchman Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 547 General 1846-1859