Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Willard Price Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Price, Willard, 1887-1983.
Title: Willard Price Papers
Dates: before 1976
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Autographed books, some manuscripts and correspondence of the Canadian-born American natural historian and author of children's fiction.
Language: English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Norwegian, Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Willard Price (1887-1983) was a Canadian-born American natural historian and author of children's fiction.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Willard Price Papers consist primarily of autographed copies of Price's books in a wide range of languages, along with a small amount of manuscripts and correspondence.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Price, Willard, 1887-1983.

Subjects

Children's literature.
Exotic animals.
Travel writing.
Travelers' writings.

Places

Africa -- Description and travel.
Amazon River -- Description and travel.
England -- Description and travel.
Japan -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Willard Price Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Willard Price.


Table of Contents

Published material

Correspondence


Inventory

Published material
Box 1 Adventures in Paradise - English, Danish
Box 2 African Adventure - English
Box 1 Amazing Amazon - English, Spanish, German, French
Box 1 Amazing Mississippi - English
Box 2 Amazon Adventure - English
Box 1 America's Paradise Lost - English
Box 1 Barbarian - English
Box 3 Cannibal Adventure
Box 2 Children of the Rising Sun - Japanese
Box 3 Diving Adventure - book and manuscript
Box 1 Elephant adventure - English
Box 3 Foreign titles, miscellaneous
Box 3 Gorilla Adventure
Box 1 I Cannot Rest from Travel - English, German, Norwegian
Box 1 Incredible Africa - English, Dutch
Box 1 Japan Rides the Tiger - English
Box 3 Japanese Miracle and Peril - book and manuscript
Box 1 Journey by Junk - English, Norwegian
Box 3 Lion Adventure - book and manuscript
Box 3 Odd Way Round the World - book and manuscript
Box 1 Riptide in the South Seas - English
Box 1 Rivers I Have Known - English
Box 1 Roaming Britain - English
Box 1 Roving South - English, Norwegian
Box 2 Safari Adventure - English
Box 2 South Sea Adventure - English
Box 2 Underwater Adventure - English
Box 2 Volcano Adventure - English
Box 1 Where Are You Going, Japan? - English
Correspondence
Box 3 Miscellaneous