Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Llewelyn Powys Letters

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Nov 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Powys, Llewelyn, 1884-1939.
Title: Llewelyn Powys Letters
Dates: 1933, undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two letters from Llewelyn Powys to Havelock Ellis.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Llewelyn Powys (1884-1939) was a British writer and younger brother of John Cowper Powys (writer, lecturer, philosopher) and Theodore F. Powys (writer). He was the author of novels, biographies, and non-fiction.

Henry Havelock Ellis (1859-1939) was a British physician and social reformer, noted for his research into human sexuality.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Llewelyn Powys Letters consist of two handwritten letters from Powys to Havelock Ellis in London. Neither letter is dated but one envelope is postmarked 24 Feb 1933.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ellis, Havelock, 1859-1939.
Powys, Llewelyn, 1884-1939.

Subjects

Authors, English.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Llewelyn Powys Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 352 Ellis, Havelock 1933, undated