Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Abel E. Powers Ledger

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Apr 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Powers, Abel E.
Title: Abel E. Powers Ledger
Dates: 1845-1850
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Account book (ledger) of Abel E. Powers, tinsmith, in Eaton (Madison County), New York. Includes estate accounts and settlements.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Abel E. Powers was a tinsmith in the post-township of Eaton in Madison County, New York. His customers included residents of Eaton, Morrisville, and Peterborough.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Abel E. Powers Ledger consists of 75+ pages recording the tinsmith's transactions from 1845 to 1850. Each page is headed with the name of an individual or business followed by a dated and itemized list of transactions and the price paid.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Powers, Abel E.

Subjects

Businessmen, New York (State)
Tinsmiths, United States

Places

Eaton (N.Y.), History
Madison County (N.Y.), History
Morrisville (N.Y.), History
New York (State), History, 1775-1865
Peterborough (N.Y.), History

Genres and Forms

Ledgers (account books)

Occupations

Tinsmiths.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Abel E. Powers Ledger,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2007


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 189 Ledger 1845-1850