Collection inventory


Finding Aids

E. P. Powell Lectures

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 15 Jul 2010

Revision history:
18 Aug 2017 bio correction (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Powell, Edward Payson, 1833-1915.
Title: E. P. Powell Lectures
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Sixty lectures and one sermon by American journalist and author E. P. Powell, and some advertising material for two of his books.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

E. P. (Edward Payson) Powell (1833-1915) was an American author and journalist. Born in Clinton, New York, he graduated from Hamilton College and Union Theological Seminary and was ordained as a Congregational minister in 1871. He embarked on his journalistm career in 1886 when he joined the St. Louis Globe-Democrat in 1886 as an editorial writer; he later (1900) moved to The Independent of New York, a civil rights and anti-slavery newspaper.

[Adapted from Powell's obituary in the New York Times, 15 May 1915, pg. 13.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The E. P. Powell Lectures consists entirely of published material. There are sixty lectures or addresses given at the Utice (New York) City Opera House, one sermon delivered at the same location, and two pieces of advertising for Powell's books.


Arrangement of the Collection

The sermons are in alphabetical order by title (see complete list in inventory below).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections of sermons; please refer to our main collections list and search on "sermons" for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Powell, Edward Payson, 1833-1915.

Corporate Bodies

Utica City Opera House.

Subjects

Lectures and lecturing -- United States -- 19th century.
Philosophy and religion -- 19th century.

Places

Utica (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Lectures.
Sermons.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

E. P. Powell Lectures,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase from Adah C. Blackman Fund, 2010.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 534 Advertisements 1897, 1903
SC 534 Sermon, "Free Love" 23 Oct 1881
SC 534 Lectures
Lecture titles are as follows.
Are Men by Nature or by Grace Divided into Two Classes -- Saints and Sinners
Are the Eyes of Evolution in Its Forehead?
Brains
Buddha, the Reformer of Brahmism
A Bundle of Paradoxes
Celibacy, Marriage and Protestantism
Character
A Christmas Dream
The Consolation of Theism
Discourse to Young Men (Independent Religious Society)
Does Science Indicate the Existence of a Supreme Being?
The Doing Creed
The Eagle's Nest: or the Outlook of an Age of Skepticism
The Evolution of the Church. Lecture
An Expurgated Bible
Finger Posts and Mile Stones. A New Year's Address
A Good Conscience
Home, Sweet Home
How to Have a Happy Life
Hymns and Religion
Is Man a Fallen Being, and under the Wrath of God?
Is the Average Life Worth the Living?
Is the Golden Rule Workable?
Is There a Personal God? A Sermon. Second Discourse on Our Heredity from God
John Calvin
John Calvin and Others Concerning Penal Sundays. Tract No. 2.
A Law of Human Evolution
Lecture on the New Year
Life and Death -- What They Are
Martin Luther, the Man
Nature
New Year, 1888
Not Allopathy Nor Homeopathy, but Sympathy
Our Heredity from God
The Penal Sunday Once More
Religion as a Factor in Human Evolution
The Religion of Despair. Tract No. 4
Religion of the Future
The Religion of Hope
Religious Fables
Religious Independence
Sin -- A Crime against Life -- Righteousness Obedience to Law
Sinning against the Holy Spirit
Socrates
A Sound Mind in a Sound Body
Spirtualism vs. Materialism
A Substitute for Orthodoxy
A Supposed Sermon by Jesus of Nazareth
The Theistic Idea of Deity
The Theistic Idea of Future Life
The Theistic Idea of God
The Theistic Idea of Man
The Theistic Idea of Prayer
The Trinity
The Two Theologies
Walking with God
Was Jesus a Supernatural Being and Our Attonement with an Angry God?
What I Saw and What I Heard on Thanksgiving Day
Where the Angels Are Born
Why I Believe in Prayer