Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Katherine Anne Porter Photograph

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Porter, Katherine Anne, 1890-1980.
Title: Katherine Anne Porter Photograph
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 item.
Abstract: Pulitzer prize-winning American author. Collection consists of a single large photograph of Porter, undated (circa 1955?).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Katherine Anne Porter (1890-1980) was an American journalist, essayist, short story writer, novelist, and political activist. She was nominated three times for the Nobel Prize for Literature, and won a Pulitzer in 1966 for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter. She was married four times but had no children.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Katherine Anne Porter Photograph consists of a single large photograph of Porter, undated (circa 1955?). The photograph is a formal portrait. On the front of the mat is written in pencil, "from Dr. Christofides." The meaning of this is unknown.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Porter, Katherine Anne, 1890-1980.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Katherine Anne Porter Photograph,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Rare Books, 1976.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
Folder 1 Formal portrait photo of Porter undated