Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Polymeric Systems Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MM
Date: 2006

Revision history:
Feb 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)
Oct 2010 records returned to collection; inventory updated (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Polymeric Systems
Title: Polymeric Systems Collection
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 41 items
Abstract: Collection consists of 36 copy color and black and white photographs of a manufacturing facility; and five 7" plastic sound discs manufactured with polystyrene by Richardson Company Polymeric Systems Division. The use of polystyrene was purported to eliminate surface noise from the discs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Polymeric Systems of Madison, Connecticut, a producer of resins, was owned by the Richardson Group, and was sold in 1982 to a newly formed company formed by Polymeric management and the Amadon Corporation.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Polymeric Systems Collection consists of 36 copy color and black and white photographs of a manufacturing facility; and five 7" plastic sound discs manufactured with polystyrene by Richardson Company Polymeric Systems Division. The use of polystyrene was purported to eliminate surface noise from the discs.


Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged by format.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Polymeric Systems (Madison, Conn.)
Richardson Group.

Subjects

Plastics industry and trade.
Plastics plants.
Polystyrene.

Genres and Forms

78 rpm records.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Polymeric Systems Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Len Schecter, 2003.


Table of Contents

Photographs

Polystyrene sound discs


Inventory

Photographs
Box 1 Manufacturing facilities (36 items)
Polystyrene sound discs
Box 1 Stella by Starlight audio equipment adjustment test (2 copies)
Box 1 Eliminate surface noice (Stella by Starlight audio equipment adjustment test) (3 copies)