Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frederik Pohl Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by:
Date: 1965

Revision history:
17 Aug 2005 EAD file created (MRR)
Jun 2009 typo in title (MRC)
16 Jul 2012 LCNAF updates (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pohl, Frederik, 1919-
Title: Frederik Pohl Papers
Dates: 1917-1968
Quantity: 7.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1934-1968); manuscripts by Pohl and others (1947-1965); legal and financial papers (1917-1964); and published material. Correspondents include Forrest J. Ackerman, Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Judith Merril, Clifford Simak, and others. In addition the collection features a large selection of fanzines
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American novelist, author, editor.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Fanzine collection, comprising 8 linear ft., has been transferred to cataloging and integrated with the science fiction periodicals.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ackerman, Forrest J.
Aldiss, Brian W. (Brian Wilson), 1925-
Anderson, Poul, 1926-2001.
Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992.
Ballantine, Betty.
Ballantine, Ian.
Bester, Alfred.
Bixby, Jerome, 1923-1998.
Blish, James.
Bok, Hannes, 1914-1964.
Boucher, Anthony, 1911-1968.
Bradbury, Ray, 1920-2012.
Brunner, John, 1934-1995.
Budrys, Algis, 1931-2008.
Busby, F. M.
Campbell, John W., Jr. (John Wood), 1910-1971.
Carnell, Edward John, 1919-1967.
Davidson, Avram.
De Camp, L. Sprague (Lyon Sprague), 1907-2000.
Del Rey, Lester, 1915-1993.
Dick, Philip K.
Dickson, Gordon R.
Disch, Thomas M.
Ellison, Harlan.
Farmer, Philip José.
Galouye, Daniel F.
Greenberg, Martin, 1918-
Harrison, Harry, 1925-2012.
Heinlein, Robert A. (Robert Anson), 1907-1988.
Herbert, Frank.
Jenkins, Will, 1896-1975.
Kauffmann, Stanley, 1916-
Klass, Philip J.
Knight, Damon Francis, 1922-2002.
Kornbluth, C. M. (Cyril M.), 1923-1958.
Kubilius, Walter.
Kummer, Fred.
Kuttner, Henry.
Lafferty, R. A.
Laumer, Keith, 1925-1993.
Leiber, Fritz, 1910-1992.
Les Tina, Dorothy.
Ley, Willy, 1906-1969.
Long, Frank Belknap, 1903-
Lowndes, Robert W.
Meredith, Scott.
Merril, Judith, 1923-1997.
Michel, John B.
Moskowitz, Sam.
Niven, Larry.
Padgett, Lewis.
Panshin, Alexei, 1940-
Perl, Arnold.
Pohl, Frederik.
Pratt, Fletcher, 1897-1956.
Rambelli, Roberta.
Reed, Kit.
Rothman, Milton A.
Samachson, Joseph, 1906-1980.
Schmitz, James H., 1911-1981.
Sheckley, Robert, 1928-2005.
Silverberg, Robert.
Simak, Clifford D., 1904-1988.
Smith, E. E. (Edward Elmer), 1890-1965.
Smith, George O. (George Oliver), 1911-
Sturgeon, Theodore.
Thomas, Theodore L.
Van Vogt, A. E. (Alfred Elton), 1912-2000.
Vance, Jack, 1916-2013.
Wilson, Richard, 1920-1987.
Wollheim, Donald A.
Wyndham, John, 1903-1969.
Zelazny, Roger.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Editors -- United States.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederik Pohl Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frederik Pohl Jr., 1965, 1967, 1969


Table of Contents


Inventory

The inventory has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.