Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.) Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.) Records
Dates: 1853-1999
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Meeting minutes for board of trustees, church society record books, church reports, Ecclesiastical Society material, and published material relating to Plymouth Congregational Church in Syracuse, New York. The majority of the collection is either microfilm or photocopies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Plymouth Congregational Church of Syracuse, New York was organized on September 24, 1853. Some members were fearful that it might be a failure, since an earlier Congregational Church had disbanded. The original membership numbered 30, and at a meeting held in the rooms of the Park Institute (corner of Genesee and Fayette Streets) it was stated that "while it should be purely Congregational in its character, it should embody in its organization and government the distinctive characteristics of [Henry Ward Beecher's] Plymouth Church of Brooklyn, New York."

By 1856, a chapel on Madison Street was dedicated and in 1858 the congregation, now incorporated, bought the lot on which the chapel stood. They furnished it and made plans for a brick church, to be completed by the following summer. In July of 1859 the new building was completed; on August 3, 1859 the church was dedicated and Rev. Mr. Strieby installed as pastor for the congregation, now grown to 261.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.) Records consists of church records, including legal, financial, organizational, historical, and administrative. The vast majority of the material is either photocopies or microfilm; there is almost no original material in the collection.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by subject; within each folder, material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collection related to church and clergy in Central New York. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.) -- Archives.

Subjects

Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.) -- History.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Church records.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Minutes.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Plymouth Congregational Church (Syracuse, N.Y.), 1964, 1968, 1970, 1999.


Table of Contents

Subject files


Inventory

Subject files
Box 1 Annual reports 1999 - original
Board of Trustees
Cabinet  Minutes 1853-1950 - microfilm
Box 1 Minutes 1950-1966 - photocopies (4 folders)
Box 1 Certificate of incorporation 1858 - photocopies
Cabinet  Church Report books 1891-1921 - microfilm
Cabinet  Church Society record books 1858-1940 - microfilm
Box 1 Correspondence 1894 - photocopies
Box 1 Ecclesiastical Society 1940, 1952 - photocopies
Box 1 Financial records 1899, 1950-1954 - photocopies
Box 1 Insurance record 1953 - photocopies
Box 1 Legal documents 1951, 1953 - photocopies
Box 1 Manuals 1853, 1883 - photocopies
Box 1 Plymouth Church Record 1873-1874 - photocopies
Box 1 "Years of Plymouth" 1963, 1998 - church history; photocopy of typescript plus later addenda
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1887, 1999 - original clipping, photocopy of "Act relating to the property of extinct or disbanded churches"