Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hobson Pittman Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010

Revision history:
10 Oct 2010 processed (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pittman, Hobson Lafayette, 1899 or 1900-1972.
Title: Hobson Pittman Papers
Dates: 1944-1963
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printed material, manuscripts of the American still life and landscape painter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Hobson Pittman (1899 or 1900-1972) was an American painter known for his still life florals, interiors, and lanscape paintings. He attended Pennsylvania State University (1921-1922), Columbia University (1924-1925) and Carnegie Tech, and became nationally recognized as a teacher of art. He taught at numerous colleges, universities and art institutions over more than forty years.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hobson Pittman Papers consists of printed material, photographs of Pittman, and a brief essay by him, on his work.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

One exhibit catalog was transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pittman, Hobson Lafayette, 1899 or 1900-1972.

Subjects

Art teachers -- United States.
Artists -- United States -- 20th century.
Artists as teachers.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American.

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hobson Pittman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Hobson Pittman, 1965.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 597 Miscellaneous 1944-1963