Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nathan Pinder Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pinder, Nathan.
Title: Nathan Pinder Correspondence
Dates: 1845-1887
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters, mostly incoming, of the British clergyman and academic.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known about Nathan Pinder other than what can be gleaned from the correspondence. Based on his signature on a few of the letters ("Rev. Pinder") he was a minister. He lived for a time in West Malvern in Worcestershire, and at one time was offered a position as "Moderator in the Classical School (Honours) at Christ Church, Oxford," though it is unknown if he accepted. One of the letters is on letterhead from No. 10 Downing Street, so Rev. Pinder was apparently well known and respected in his field.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nathan Pinder Correspondence consists of 24 letters, mostly incoming. The handwriting is difficult on many of them. They are general in nature -- invitations to dinner, an offer of a position at Christ Church College, requests for a sermon, and so on. At least two of the letters appear to reference a "J. J. Pinder," whose relationship (if any) to Nathan is unknown.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pinder, Nathan.

Subjects

Clergy -- England -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nathan Pinder Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 538 Miscellaneous 1845-1887