Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Parker Pillsbury Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Aug 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pillsbury, Parker, 1809-1898.
Title: Parker Pillsbury Correspondence
Dates: 1883
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence from abolitionist Parker Pillsbury.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Parker Pillsbury (1809-1898) was an American social reformer, particularly in the areas of abolition and women's rights. He lectured on behalf of several anti-slavery societies and served as an emissary from the American Anti-Slavery Society to Great Britain.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Parker Pillsbury Correspondence consists of one letter from the American abolitionist to a friend, Emily. The letter was evidently written while Pillsbury was overseeing the printing of his Acts of the Anti-Slavery Apostles.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pillsbury, Parker, 1809-1898.

Subjects

Abolitionists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Parker Pillsbury Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
—, Emily 1883