Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Pierotti Papers

An inventory of his Papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: RT
Date: Dec 1968

Revision history:
24 Feb 2009 converted to EAD (MD)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pierotti, John
Title: John Pierotti Papers
Dates: 1933-1987
Quantity: 23 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoons and illustrations, sketches, clippings, photographs, correspondence and printed material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Pierotti (1911-1987) was an American cartoonist and illustrator. Pierotti worked for several organizations during his career, most extensively for King Features Syndicate and The New York Post.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Pierotti Papers consists of original editorial cartoons, sports cartoons, magazine and advertising illustrations, original sketches, magazine and newspaper clippings of Pierotti's work, photographs, correspondence and published material.


Arrangement of the Collection

This collection is partially arranged—re-housing and a complete inventory are pending.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pierotti, John.

Associated Titles

King Features Syndicate.
New York post.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- New York (State) -- New York.
Illustrators -- United States.
Sports -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Editorial cartoons.
Photographs.

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Pierotti Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Pierotti, 1966-1987.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.