Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Franklin Pierce Land Office Certificates

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pierce, Franklin, 1804-1869.
Title: Franklin Pierce Land Office Certificates
Dates: 1853-1855
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two land office grants, signed by President Franklin Pierce. Grantees are Marcus D. L. Simpson and Horatio W. Sanford.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Franklin Pierce (1804-1869) was the 14th President of the United States (1853-1857). Prior to his presidency he served in both the House of Representatives (1833-1837) and the Senate (1837-1842) as a legislator from New Hampshire. Although a Northerner, he sympathized with the Southern cause during the American Civil War and was good friends with Jefferson Davis.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Franklin Pierce Land Office Certificates consists of two land office grants, signed by President Franklin Pierce. According to the grants, Marcus D. L. Simpson (or possibly Amos G. Stedman) received land in Dixon, Illinois for his service as a 2d Lieutenant during the Mexican War, and Horatio W. Sanford received 240 acres in Dubuque, Iowa.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pierce, Franklin, 1804-1869.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- General Land Office.

Subjects

Bounties, Military.
Land grants -- Iowa.
Mexican War, 1846-1848 -- Veterans.

Genres and Forms

Land grants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Franklin Pierce Land Office Certificates,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1970.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 537 Land grants 1853, 1855