Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Singleton Peabody Letter

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Jan 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Peabody, Robert S. (Robert Singleton), 1837-
Title: Robert Singleton Peabody Letter
Dates: 1850s
Quantity: 1 letter (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Singleton Peabody , nephew of noted philanthropist George Peabody (1795-1869), to his fiancee, Maggie (Margaret Augusta Goddard). The letter concerns a fishing trip in the Thousand Islands area of New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Singleton Peabody (1837-1904) attended Phillips Academy in Andover, Massachusetts where he was valedictorian of his class (1857). He married Margaret Augusta Goddard with whom he had a son, Charles Peabody. Singleton Peabody was the nephew of the well-known philanthropist George Peabody (1795-1869) and was co-executor of his uncle's will. Over his lifetime Peabody amassed a collection of some 40,000 Native American archaeological artifacts, which he donated to Phillips Academy and which formed the nucleus of the Robert S. Peabody Museum of Archaeology (founded 1901).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Singleton Peabody Letter consists of a single letter from Singleton Peabody to his fiancee, "Maggie" (Margaret Augusta Goddard), while he was on a fishing trip in the Thousand Islands area of New York State with his uncle, philanthropist George Peabody. The letter is undated but is likely from the 1850s.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Peabody, George, 1795-1869.
Peabody, Robert S. (Robert Singleton), 1837-

Places

Thousand Islands (N.Y. and Ont.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Singleton Peabody Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2007.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 220 Undated