Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Malcolm Peabody Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Dec 1966

Revision history:
25 Jan 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Peabody, Malcolm, 1888-1974.
Title: Malcolm Peabody Papers
Dates: 1911-1965
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Episcopal bishop. Correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1911-1965); and manuscript sermons (1942-1964).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Malcolm Peabody (1888-1974) was an American episcopal clergyman, missionary to the Philippines and Episcopal bishop of Central New York.

Born in Danvers, Massachusetts, Peabody attended Groton School (founded by his father), Harvard University, and Trinity College, Cambridge. He graduated from the Episcopal Theological Seminary in 1916 and was ordained in 1917. After serving in World War I as a chaplain with the American Expeditionary Force, his first parish was in Lawrence, Massachusetts, where he became rector in 1920. In 1925 he was moved to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he was rector of St. Paul's in Chestnut Hill for the next thirteen years. In 1938 he was appointed bishop coadjutor for the diocese of Central New York, a position he held until 1942 when he was made Bishop of the region. He served as bishop in Syracuse until his retirement in 1960. His son Endicott (1920-1997) served as governor of Massachusetts (1963-1965).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Malcolm Peabody Papers consists of correspondence (both incoming and outgoing), subject files, and manuscripts (addresses, sermons, book reviews, etc.)


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Peabody, Malcolm, 1888-1974 -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Episcopal Church -- Bishops.
Episcopal Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Episcopalians -- United States.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Malcolm Peabody Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 A
Box 1 B
Box 1 Brent, Bishop Charles H. 1912-1921, 1927 (2 folders)
Box 1 C
Box 1 Canfield, Cass
Box 1 D
Box 1 E
Box 2 F
Box 2 G
Box 2 H
Box 2 Higley, Walter
Box 2 I-K
Box 2 L
Box 2 Lawrence, Bishop William 1912, 1919, 1930, 1934, 1936-1939, 1960, undated
Box 2 Lawton, Rev. J. Keith
Box 2 Lee, Robert T. and Mrs.
Box 2 Lee, Robert T. Jr.
Box 2 Lukens, Edward Clark
Box 3 M
Box 3 Morgan, Junius
Box 3 N
Box 3 O
Box 3 Ogilby, Remsen Brinckerhoff
Box 3 P-Q
Box 3 Parmar, Percy
Box 3 Peabody, Betsey and Margorie
Peabody, Endicott
Box 3 1911-1929
Box 4 1930-1944, undated (2 folders)
Box 4 Peabody, Mrs. Endicott
Box 4 Pepper, Rebecca
Box 4 R
Box 4 Reed, D. A.
Box 4 Roosevelt, Franklin D.
Box 4 Roosevelt, Theodore
Box 4 S
Box 4 Sexton, William Lord
Box 4 Sherrill, Henry
Box 4 Stevenson, Adlai
Box 4 T
Box 4 V
Box 5 W
Box 5 Warren, Matthew M.
Box 5 Whittemore, Lewis Bliss
Box 5 Williams, Garfield
Box 5 X-Z
Box 5 Unidentified
Subject files
Box 5 Baguio School
Box 5 Bishop Charles Henry Brent
Box 5 Clark, Mrs. Walter E.
Box 5 Degrees
Box 5 Documents
Box 5 Grace Episcopal Church, Lawrence, Mass.
Box 5 Groton School
See also Manuscripts: Addresses and sermons.
Box 5 Endicott Peabody
Box 5 Research material
Box 5 Rev. Dr. Remsen Brinckerhoff Ogilby
Box 5 Skeel, Amos
Box 5 Starr, Theodore
Manuscripts
Box 5 Adresses and sermons
Box 5 Book review
Box 5 Personal testimonial