Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Payen Family Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Payen family.
Title: Payen Family Papers
Dates: before 2004
Quantity: 144 linear ft.
Abstract: 19th c. New York family, associated with the LeRay Mansion in LeRaysville, New York. Collection includes original family material (correspondence, "Professional" files, "Course of Study" files, notebooks, maps, memorabilia, printed material, photographs) as well as research material for a book on the Payen family.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Payen family were a 19th century New York family who resided in New York State in an area known as the North Country. Jules Rene Payen (1800-1862), a Frenchman, came to the North Country in 1840 after purchasing the LeRay Mansion from James LeRay de Chaumont; de Chaumont was the scion of an important French shipping mercantile family and is known as "the father of the North Country" for his influence in the economic growth of the region. Jules and his wife Anna had a daughter, Julia, who married William S. Phelps of LeRaysville. The mansion, which passed to Julia and then to her descendants, remained in the family until 1936. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Payen Family Papers includes correspondence, professional files, "Course of Study" files, notebooks, maps, memorabilia, printed material and photographs. It also contains research material amassed by Thomas J. Schaeper in the writing of his book France and America in the revolutionary era : the life of Jacques-Donatien Leray de Chaumont, 1725-1803 (Berghahn Books, 1995).


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A copy of Schaeper's book France and America in the revolutionary era : the life of Jacques-Donatien Leray de Chaumont, 1725-1803 is available in the Rare Books holding. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chaumont, Jacques-Donatien Leray de, 1725-1803.
Leray family.
Payen family.
Payen, Jules Rene.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Maps.
Memorabilia.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Printed ephemera.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Payen Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 2004.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.