Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James K. Paulding Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Jul 2010

Revision history:
5 Jan 2017 fixed index coding (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Paulding, James Kirke, 1778-1860.
Title: James K. Paulding Correspondence
Dates: 1827-1843
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Approximately 45 letters to and from the American author and Secretary of the Navy.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Kirke Paulding (1778-1860) was an American writer. A member of the so-called "Knickerbocker Group," he wrote poetry, novels and plays. With his friend Washington Irving, he was the creator and publisher of the satirical periodical Salmagundi. His extensive knowledge of naval affairs led President Martin Van Buren to appoint him Secretary of the Navy (1838-1841).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James K. Paulding Correspondence consists of approximately 45 letters to and from the American author and Secretary of the Navy. Correspondents include the Department of the Navy and various naval officers, politicians, and authors. A complete index to correspondents is given at the end of this inventory.

The earliest letter, dated 12 Jan 1827, is from Paulding to American banker and politician Gulian C. Verplanck. In it Paulding discourses on national and New York City politics (Paulding's brother was at the time mayor of the city), and attacks New York Governor DeWitt Clinton.

There is also one letter from Admiral Hiram Paulding, to "My dear Foote." Hiram Paulding was a cousin of James Kirke Paulding.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically. An index of correspondents appears at the end of this inventory.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Paulding, Hiram, 1797-1878.
Paulding, James Kirke, 1778-1860.
Verplanck, Gulian C. (Gulian Crommelin), 1786-1870.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy Department -- History.

Subjects

American literature -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James K. Paulding Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Index to correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 533 General 1827-1843

Index to correspondence