Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Giacomo Patri Engraving

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Patri, Giacomo, 1898-1978.
Title: Giacomo Patri Engraving
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 item.
Abstract: Wood engraving by the Italian-American artist and illustrator; subject matter is World War II soldiers on battlefield in North Africa.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Giacomo Patri (1898-1978) was an Italian-American artist, illustrator and teacher. He came to American as a young man in 1916 and studied at the California School of Fine Art; he later taught at both the Presidio Hill School and California Labor School, and then had his own art school. He was also a champion fencer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Giacomo Patri Engraving consists of a single item, a wood engraving showing World War II soldiers on the battlefield, possibly in North Africa.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous books written and illustrated by Patri in our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Patri, Giacomo, 1898-1978.

Subjects

War in art.
Wood-engravers -- United States.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Art and the war.

Genres and Forms

Engravings.

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Giacomo Patri Engraving,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2010.


Table of Contents

Artwork


Inventory

Artwork
Box 1 Wood engraving, untitled undated