Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Tony Pastor Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 08 December 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Pastor, Tony, 1837-1908.
Title: Tony Pastor Letter
Dates: 1893
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter written by Tony Pastor, the American Vaudeville performer and songwriter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Tony Pastor (1837-1908) was an American variety performer, songwriter, and theater owner. Known as the "Father of Vaudeville," he became famous for his comic songs in the 1860s. As an impresario, he developed family-friendly variety shows that served as an alternative to the bawdy and male-oriented Vaudeville performances of the time.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Tony Pastor Letter consists of a handwritten letter by Pastor. It is written on "Clark Street Theater" of Chicago letterhead and addressed to Edward Frueberger. In the letter, Pastor sends his regrets to Frueberger, informing him that he will be unable to meet him that Sunday as they had originally planned.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Frueberger, Edward.
Pastor, Tony, 1837-1908.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Entertainers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tony Pastor Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 360 1893