Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Alfred Parsons Letter

An description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 08 December 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Parsons, Alfred, 1847-1920.
Title: Alfred Parsons Letter
Dates: 1847-1920
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Photocopy of an undated letter sent by the English novelist Thomas Hardy to illustrator Alfred Parsons.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alfred Parsons (1847-1920) was an English artist and illustrator. He worked for Harper's Magazine and often drew illustrations for the short stories of Thomas Hardy, the naturalist novelist.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alfred Parsons Letter consists of a photocopy of a letter written by Thomas Hardy and addressed to Alfred Parsons. The letter is written on "Max Gate near Dorchester" letterhead and dated only "Thursday Jan 24." Hardy discusses arrangements for a visit from Parsons later in the week.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hardy, Thomas, 1840-1928.
Parsons, Alfred, 1847-1920.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Hardy Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 359 undated