Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ashbel Parmalee Commonplace Book

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Dec 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Parmalee, Ashbel B.
Title: Ashbel Parmalee Commonplace Book
Dates: circa 1834
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Scrapbook of quotes, clippings, sayings; compiled by Ashbel B. Parmalee, probably while he was at Franklin Academy in Malone, New York
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Ashbel B. Parmalee beyond the very limited information implied by the scrapbook. He was evidently well-read and well-educated, as the scrapbook contains quotes from Shakespeare and classical Latin sources as well as a few phrases in Greek; he appreciated poetry, as the book also includes quotations from Keats and other poets.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ashbel Parmalee Commonplace Book consists of one volume containing quotes, clippings, and sayings; genres include classics, poetry, drama, short stories, essays and more. The book was probably compiled by Ashbel B. Parmalee while he was at Franklin Academy in Malone, New York, as the name of the academy and the name of the town appear occasionally in the early pages.


Arrangement of the Collection

Bound volume. Items have been pasted or copied in in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Parmalee, Ashbel B.

Corporate Bodies

Franklin Academy (Malone, N.Y.)

Subjects

American poetry -- 19th century.
English poetry -- 19th century.
High school students -- New York (State)
Quotations, English.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Commonplace books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ashbel Parmalee Commonplace Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2010.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 655 Commonplace book circa 1834