Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

George A. Parkinson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 31 May 2006



Biographical History

George A. Parkinson was a member of the Milwaukee University of Wisconsin Extension (1937-1956) and director of the Milwaukee Teachers College (1958-1968). He served many posts as board member and officer of the Association of University Evening Colleges. He was active in bringing educational television to Milwaukee. He also served ETV both regionally and nationally as Vice President of the Midwest ETV Association (1962- ) and as a board member of the National Instructional Television Library (1962- ).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George A. Parkinson Papers consists of his speeches extending from 1937 to 1963, and ranging in subject matter from "The Role of the Evening College in Community Education," to "A Pattern of Higher Education for the State of Wisconsin" to "Education Beyond the High School and Where Vocation and Adult Education Fit Into the Picture."


Arrangement of the Collection

Speeches are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

In particular, see also:

Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records.

Subject Headings

Persons

Parkinson, George A.

Corporate Bodies

Association of University Evening Colleges (U.S.)

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Adult education -- Wisconsin.
Educators -- United States.
Evening and continuation schools -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Speeches.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George A. Parkinson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Speeches


Inventory