Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Pali ms fragment

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 May 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Pali ms fragment
Dates: 500-100 BCE
Quantity: 1 item
Abstract: Manuscript on what appears to be palm leaf, written in the Pali script.
Language: Pali
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

According to a note accompanying the item, probably written by John S. Mayfield: "PALI literature: the sacred literature of Buddhism, written in Pali, an Indo-Iranian language closely related to Sanskrit; it was the native tongue of the Buddah [sic] and because his discourses were written in his own tongue, the imitations of his sermons and the various forms attributed to him were written in Pali. As soon as the sacred books of Buddhism ceased to be written, Pali literature ceased to grow. Most Pali literature was written in the time before Christ. The first Pali books were found in Ceylon. JSM."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Pali ms fragment consists of a single page, 3" by 20", of what appears to be palm leaf, written on both sides in the Pali language. There are two holes in the leaf, indicating it was once bound with other pages between two wooden boards.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Buddhism.
Pali literature.
Religious literature -- Ceylon.

Genres and Forms

Palm leaf (material)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Pali ms fragment,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
Oversize 1 Pali fragment 500-100 BCE