Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George M. Page Account Books

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Aug 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Page, George M., fl. 1845-1854.
Title: George M. Page Account Books
Dates: 1845-1854
Quantity: 3 volumes, boxed.
Abstract: Three account books kept by George M. Page of Earlville, Madison County, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George M. Page was the owner of three boats on the Chenango Canal and storehouses in Norwich and Earlville, New York where he bought and sold farm produce and supplies. His son Caleb S. Page later took over the family business.

[Information taken from "The Letters of Charlotte Browning Page," The Courier, Syracuse University, Spring 1980.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George M. Page Account Books consist of three volumes, with a few loose items laid in, listing income and expenses.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the papers of George M. Page's grand-daughter Charlotte Browning Page, daughter of George's son Caleb.


Subject Headings

Persons

Page, George M., fl. 1845-1854.

Subjects

Erie Canal (N.Y.) -- Commerce.
Erie Canal (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.

Places

Earlville (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.
New York (State) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Grocers.
Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George M. Page Account Books,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.


Table of Contents

Financial material


Inventory

Financial material
Box 1 Account book 1845-1849
Box 1 Account book 1848-1852
Box 2 Account book 1853-1854