Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nathan Osgood Account Book

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: BE
Date: circa 1970

Revision history:
15 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Osgood, Nathan, fl. 1787-1788.
Title: Nathan Osgood Account Book
Dates: 1787-1788
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Collection contains one ledger recording the purchase of staples from Osgood's General Store located near Hartford, Connecticut.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is know of Nathan Osgood other than the evidence presented in the collection. He is referred to in the account book as "Captain."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nathan Osgood Account Book consists of a single account book showing records of purchases of staples (grain and dairy products), dry goods (cloth and china), and animals from Osgood's General Store near Hartford, Connecticut. Much of the handwriting is difficult if not impossible to decipher. The book covers eleven months, from October 1787 to August 1788.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Osgood, Nathan, fl. 1787-1788.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- Hartford (Conn.)

Places

Hartford (Conn.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nathan Osgood Account Book
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
SC 505 Account book Oct 1787-Aug 1788