Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Devens Osborne Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Osborne, Charles Devens.
Title: Charles Devens Osborne Papers
Dates: pending processing
Quantity: 125 linear ft.
Abstract: Mayor of Auburn, New York; son of prison reformer Thomas Mott Osborne. Collection includes correspondence, clippings, diaries, memorabilia, artwork, printed material and much more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Devens Osborne was the son of prison reformer Thomas Mott Osborne, and brother of diplomat and newspaper publisher Lithgow Osborne. He was mayor of Auburn, New York from 1928 to 1931 and again from 1937 to 1939; in 1942 he ran for election to the U.S. House of Representatives for New York's 36th District.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Devens Osborne Papers includes correspondence, clippings, diaries, memorabilia, artwork, printed material and much more.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is CLOSED in its entirety until the year 2050.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Osborne Family Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Osborne family.
Osborne, Charles Devens.

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Paintings.
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Devens Osborne Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969-2009.


Table of Contents

Papers


Inventory

Papers
RESTRICTED: The collection is CLOSED in its entirety until the year 2050.