Collection inventory


Finding Aids

The Oolah Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Nov 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Harrington, Frances Ward -- collector.
Title: The Oolah Collection
Dates: 1889
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Advertisement and souvenir card from 50th performance of The Oolah comic opera in New York City's Broadway Theatre, collected by Francis Ward Harrington.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Oolah was a comic opera which debuted in New York City on May 13, 1889, an English adaptation of the French La Jolie Persane. The music was composed by Charles LeCocq and the original French libretto was adapted by Sydney Rosenfeld. Francis Wilson directed and starred in it.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Oolah Collection consists of a souvenir card and an advertisement from the 50th performance of the production, on July 1, 1889.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Harrington, Frances Ward -- collector.

Corporate Bodies

Broadway Theatre (New York, N.Y. : 1864)

Associated Titles

The oolah.

Subjects

Opera.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Souvenir programs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

The Oolah Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Francis Ward Harrington.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 680 Souvenir and advertisement 1889