Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Oberlander Lutheran Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 26 Jan 1993

Revision history:
16 Jul 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Oberlander, Alexander.
Title: Oberlander Lutheran Collection
Dates: 1925-1933
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Approximately 900 pieces relating to the Lutheran Church in Central New York, collected by Alexander Oberlander of Syracuse.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alexander Oberlander was the owner of the Oberlander Press in Syracuse, New York, and an officer in the governing body of the Lutheran Church. As such Oberlander was involved in problem solving for local churches, including issues of congregational resistance to switching the liturgical language from German to English, and conflicts between pastor and congregation.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Oberlander Lutheran Collection consists of approximately 900 pieces relating to the Lutheran Church in Central New York, collected by Alexander Oberlander of Syracuse. Churches represented include the United Lutheran Church of New York, St. Paul's (Oswego), St. Paul's (Syracuse), and Trinity Church (Herkimer), as well as Concordia and St. Paul's churches in Watertown.


Arrangement of the Collection

Original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to church and clergy in the Central New York area. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hartwick, John Christopher, 1714-1796.
Oberlander, Alexander.

Corporate Bodies

Lutheran Church -- Clergy.
Lutheran Church -- Doctrines.
Lutheran Church -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

New York (State) -- Church history.

Genres and Forms

Church records.
Correspondence.
Reports.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Oberlander Lutheran Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alexander Oberlander, circa 1964.


Table of Contents

Lutheran church material


Inventory

Lutheran church material
Box 1 Concerning John Christopher Hartwick
Box 1 Doctrinal basis of the United Lutheran Church of New York, Article 1, Section 2
Box 1 St. Paul's Church, Oswego (New York) 1931-1932
Box 1 St. Paul's Church, Syracuse (New York) 1925-1926
Box 1 Synod matters (4 folders)
Box 1 Trinity Church, Hermiker (New York)
Box 1 Watertown (New York) Concordia and St. Paul congregations 1932-1933
Box 1 Writings - miscellaneous