Collection inventory


Finding Aids

New York State Surveyor's Diary

A description of the diary at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 10 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: New York State Surveyor's Diary
Dates: 1848-1849
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Diary of a nineteenth-century surveyor from Oswego County who likely worked in an official capacity for the state and/or held public office.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The unknown diary writer appears to have been a land surveyor who lived in the Oswego County region of New York. He occasionally visits Albany and mentions drafting bills and state laws (especially related to road work), suggesting that he held public office and/or worked in an official capacity as a surveyor at the state level. He also appears to own a farm.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New York State Surveyor's Diary spans 1848 to 1849 and consists of short entries in which the diary writer notes down his daily activities. Most entries are only a sentence or two long, usually starting with a description of the day's weather, and then details such as places the diary writer traveled to, people he visited, and work surveying or on his farm.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also holds another similar collection, the Surveyor’s Diary


Subject Headings

Subjects

Surveyors -- Diaries.
Surveyors -- New York (State)

Places

Oswego County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Surveyors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New York State Surveyor's Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Morrison, 1969.


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 406 1848-1849