Collection inventory


Finding Aids

New York State Farmers' League Records

A description of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 5 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York State Farmers' League
Title: New York State Farmers' League Records
Dates: 1890-1891
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two account books containing financial records and meeting minutes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The New York State Farmers' League was a labor union formed in 1890 to organize farmers and campaign for their political interests.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New York State Farmers' League Records consist of two account books kept by the league secretary, F. E. Dawley of Fayetteville, New York. The first book contains approximately 12 pages with lists of members, their locations, dates, and payments to the league in 1891.

The second book contains approximately 60 pages with further financial records related to the league secretary's expenses, as well as meeting minutes and some related receipts and correspondence. It spans 1890-1891.


Arrangement of the Collection

The items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dawley, F. E.

Corporate Bodies

New York State Farmers' League

Subjects

Agriculture -- New York (State) -- Societies, etc.
Farmers -- New York (State) -- Societies, etc.

Places

Albany (N.Y.) -- History.
Fayetteville (N.Y.) -- History.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.
Utica (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New York State Farmers' League Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Account Books


Inventory

Account Books
SC 478 1890-1891