Collection inventory


Finding Aids

New York Adult Education Council (NYAEC) Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York Adult Education Council.
Title: New York Adult Education Council (NYAEC) Records
Dates: 1954-1969
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Constitution, membership directory, one item of correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The New York Adult Education Council provided information regarding adult and continuing education activities in the metropolitan New York area. Although exact dates for the organization cannot be determined, it is mentioned as early as the 1930s and the material in the collection indicates it was still in existence in 1969.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New York Adult Education Council (NYAEC) Records consists of a photocopy of the organization's Constitution, a membership directory for 1968-1969, and one item of correspondence, a letter to members regarding the annual meeting.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York Adult Education Council.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States -- Societies, etc.

Genres and Forms

Constitutions.
Correspondence.
Directories.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New York Adult Education Council (NYAEC) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alexander Charters, 1976.


Table of Contents

Organizational records


Inventory

Organizational records
SC 581, Folder 1 Constitution 1954
SC 581, Folder 1 Correspondence 1969
SC 581, Folder 1 Member directory 1968-1969