Collection inventory


Finding Aids

New York State Census

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Aug 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New York (State)
Title: New York State Census
Dates: circa 1817
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: manuscript labeled "Census of N[ew] York. No. 1"
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The area which eventually became New York State was first visited by Europeans in 1609. The area was largely settled by Dutch until the Second Anglo-Dutch War, when the English captured it and governed it as the Province of New York. New York wrote its first state Constitution in 1777; that same year, George Clinton was inaugurate as the state's first governor. A "Census of Electors and Other Inhabitants" in 1814, divided by town, shows a total of just over 1 million; today the state has a population of nearly 8.5 million.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New York State Census consists of a single oversize sheet labeled as "Census of N[ew] York. No. 1." The document probably dates from after 1814 but before 1820, based on the counties that are included and the populations given. The categories are "Not Naturalized," "Free Whites" divided by males and females, "Slaves," "Free Colored," "Indentured Servants," and "Total." Fifty counties are listed.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single sheet.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New York (State)

Subjects

New York (State) -- Population.

Places

New York (State) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Census records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New York State Census,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Administrative records


Inventory

Administrative records
SC 754 "Census of N[ew] York. No. 1" circa 1820