Collection inventory


Finding Aids

North Country Maps Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Feb 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: North Country Maps Collection
Dates: 1800-1950
Quantity: 1100 items in 11 oversize boxes
Abstract: A collection of over eleven hundred late nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century printed and manuscript maps of the North Country of New York State
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The North Country is a region of New York State that encompasses the state's extreme northern frontier, bordering Lake Ontario on the west, the Saint Lawrence River and the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Quebec on the north and northwest, and Lake Champlain and Vermont on the east. It contains the counties of Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, and Warren. The North Country shares with Ontario the Thousand Islands, an archipelago within the Saint Lawrence River. The region is the most sparsely populated but the geographically largest area in New York.

The maps comprising the collection were accumulated by a practicing New York State surveyor, who used them in his work.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The North Country Maps Collection contains over eleven hundred late nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century printed and manuscript maps of the North Country of New York State, including some of the Adirondacks region.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Cartography.
Maps -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- North Country.

Genres and Forms

Land use maps.
Manuscript maps.
Maps (documents)
Sketch maps.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

North Country Maps Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2016.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.