Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nimrod Ship's Log

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McCoy, Charles, fl. 1839-1840.
Title: Nimrod Ship's Log
Dates: 1839-1840
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Day book of the sloop Nimrod, under Captain Charles McCoy.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Based on the entries in the daybook, the Nimrod was primarily used for cargo. The entries are all headed "Annsville" which may refer to Annsville, New York. Other entries suggest that the sloop was operating somewhere in New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nimrod Ship's Log consists of a single volume, the daybook for the sloop Nimrod containing the accounts for 1839 and 1840. It suggests the sloop was operating somewhere in New York, primarily in hauling cargo for various clients. The book includes expenses (crew salaries, fees for warpage, etc) and receipts, occasionally interspersed with poetry (e.g. page 25, "Perfect Fair Lady").


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other 18th and 19th century ship's logs. Please search the Classic Catalog , for "ship's logs" for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

McCoy, Charles, fl. 1839-1840.

Corporate Bodies

Nimrod (Sloop)

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Ships' logs.

Occupations

Ship captains.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nimrod Ship's Log,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.


Table of Contents

Ship's logs


Inventory

Ship's logs
SC 250 Nimrod, day book 1839-1840