Collection inventory


Finding Aids

New Hampshire Militia, 10th Regiment Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: New Hampshire. -- Militia. -- Regiment, 10th.
Title: New Hampshire Militia, 10th Regiment, Collection
Dates: 1804-1915
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Assorted items relating to the 10th Regiment of the New Hampshire Militia. Collection includes orderly book, printed ephemera, correspondence and several issues of local newspapers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The New Hampshire Militia, 10th Regiment was initially formed during the American Revolutionary War. At that time it was sometimes known as Welch's Regiment. The unit also saw service during the American Civil War. In 1919 the New Hampshire Militia, like other state militias, we renamed the National Guard.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The New Hampshire Militia, 10th Regiment Collection consists of correspondence, newspapers, an orderly book and printed ephemera.

Correspondence contains a few letters relating to regimental affairs. Newspapers consists of two issues of the Dover Inquirer (1 Nov 1831 and 7 Jul 1840); one issue of the New-Hampshire Patriot & State Gazette (10 Jan 1825); one issue of The Puritan Recorder (5 May 1853), and one issue of The Dartmouth, the student-produced newspaper of Dartmouth College (22 Nov 1915).Printed ephemera, some of which was found laid in the orderly book, includes a printed roster of the regiment, a train ticket, a printed class list from Nashua High School, and a receipt for taxes paid. The Regimental records contains copies of orders, letters, rosters and other company documents.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

New Hampshire. -- Militia. -- Regiment, 10th.

Places

New Hampshire -- History, Military.
New Hampshire -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Newspapers.
Orderly books.
Printed ephemera.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

New Hampshire Militia, 10th Regiment Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Newspapers

Printed ephemera

Regimental records


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 613 Miscellaneous 1824-1848
Newspapers
SC 613 Local New Hampshire papers 1825, 1831, 1840, 1853, 1915
Dover Inquirer, 2 issues (1 Nov 1831 and 7 Jul 1840)
New-Hampshire Patriot & State Gazette, 1 issue (10 Jan 1825)
The Puritan Recorder, 1 issue (5 May 1853)
The Dartmouth, 1 issue (22 Nov 1915).
Printed ephemera
SC 613 Miscellaneous 1832, 1856, 1877, 1886 - printed roster of regiment, train ticket, printed class list from Nashua High School, receipt for taxes paid
Regimental records
SC 613 Orderly book 1844-1852