Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Anna P. Newbold Diary

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Newbold, Anna P.
Title: Anna P. Newbold Diary
Dates: 1862-1863
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Diary and expense record of a Philadelphia woman, recording household and personal expenses
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Anna P. Newbold was a Philadelphia woman. Nothing else is known of her other than what is found in the collection.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anna P. Newbold Diary consists of a diary and expense record, recording household and personal expenses with brief entries in the nature of a diary. It includes three very brief references to the Civil War and an account of a trip to Saratoga, Lake George, Lake Champlain and Fort Ticonderoga in September, 1862.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Newbold, Anna P.

Subjects

Housewives -- United States -- 19th century.
Women -- United States -- 19th century.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.
Housebooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anna P. Newbold Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1966.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Volume MV-09 Diary and expense record Jan 1862-Mar 1863