Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard J. Neutra Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: Dec 1994

Revision history:
12 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)
4 May 2017 audiorecordings added (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Neutra, Richard Joseph, 1892-1970.
Title: Richard J. Neutra Papers
Dates: 1940-1966
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American architect, born in Austria. Outgoing correspondence only, including drafts and revisions of letters of Neutra and of the Richard J. Neutra Institute (1940-1966); writings, including essays, lectures, speeches, and notes; audiorecordings. Writings, arranged chronologically, form a journal of ideas for lectures and articles, as well as writings on specific projects, and on the business of Neutra's architectural firm and of the Richard J. Neutra Institute. Also, a filmed interview with Neutra.
Language: Most in English, some in German.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard J. Neutra (1892-1970) was an Austrian-American architect. Born in Vienna, Austria, he studied under Adolf Loos at the Technische Hochschul and was influenced by Otto Wagner. He worked in the studio of Erich Mendelsohn in Germany from 1921-1922, then in 1923 moved to the United States (he became a United States citizen in 1929).

Neutra worked briefly for Frank Lloyd Wright before moving to California, where he opened his own practice in Los Angeles, the Richard J. Neutra Institute. (His son, with whom Neutra worked later in his career, maintains the office today as the Richard and Dion Neutra Architecture / Neutra Institute for Survival Through Design.) In addition to numerous private homes in California Neutra's works include the Airman Memorial Chapel at Miramar Naval Air Station, the Hall of Records in Los Angeles, the Orange County Courthouse in Santa Ana, the Germological Institute of America in Brentwood, and the Bewobau Housing Colony in Waldorf, Germany.

He was known for taking pains to ascertain the real needs of his clients, no matter the size of the job in question, rather than attempting to impose his own artistic vision on a project. Writing in Sunset magazine in 1943, Neutra explained that the success or "livability" of a house could be measured by how much living could be enjoyed in every part of it each hour of the day. A proponent of a modern style centered on the integration of buildings with their natural surroundings, Neutra wrote and spoke extensively on his architectural philosophy.

Neutra collaborated successfully with a series of partners including his wife, Dione; his protege, Robert Alexander; and his son, Dion. His autobiography, Life and Shape, was published in 1962. Two collections of his essays, letters and diaries were published posthumously, in 1986 and 1989.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1940 to 1966, the Richard J. Neutra Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, drawings, memorabilia, recordings, and writings of the Austrian-born American architect (1892-1970). Predominantly writings and recordings of his lectures and speeches, the collection illuminates Neutra's ideas on architecture, design, and planning.

Biographical material consists of contributions written by Neutra himself as well as by his wife Dione and his sons Raymond and Dion.

Correspondence includes drafts and revisions of outgoing letters of Neutra and of the Neutra Institute.

Drawings consists of original architectural perspectives for the Mymensinch University Convocation Hall and for the Orange County Court House, and photographic reproductions of some sketches by Neutra.

An assortment of news clippings, photostats, and pamphlets constitute Memorabilia. There is also a 16mm film of an interview with Neutra. The film has been copied onto video and both the original and the VHS copy are included in the collection.

Recordings contains audiorecordings of Neutra's lectures, speeches, talks, presentations, etc.

Writings encompasses essays, speeches and notes. Essays include published and unpublished articles by Neutra and pamphlets issued by the Richard J. Neutra Institute; speeches include both lectures and addresses. Neutra's notes form a journal of ideas for lectures and articles as well as writings on specific projects (Orange County Court House, Tower of Hope, VDL House, West Pakistan University), and on the business of the architectural firm, foundation, and institute that were founded by and named for him.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Writings are first arranged alphabetically by type; speeches (both lectures and addresses) and essays are then arranged alphabetically by the title supplied by Neutra while Neutra's notes are arranged by date.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of noted architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Neutra, Richard Joseph, 1892-1970 -- Philosophy.
Neutra, Richard Joseph, 1892-1970.

Corporate Bodies

Richard J. Neutra Institute.
Richard J. Neutra and Associates.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural design.
Architectural firms.
Architectural practice.
Architecture -- Environmental aspects.
Architecture -- Human factors.
Architecture -- Psychological aspects.
Architecture -- Study and teaching.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- United States.
Architecture, American.
Architecture, Domestic.
Art -- Philosophy.
Austrian Americans.
City planning -- United States.
International style (Architecture) -- United States.

Genres and Forms

16mm.
Audiotapes.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Interviews.
Lectures.
Notes.
Speeches.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard J. Neutra Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Drawings

Memorabilia

Recordings

Writings


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Box 1 General circa 1940-1966, undated (9 folders)
Drawings
Box 4 Original architectural drawings, Mymensinch University, Orange County Court House
Box 4 Reproductions (photographs)
Memorabilia
Box 4 Clippings, miscellaneous printed material
Box 4 Interview with Neutra (2 copies, 16mm and VHS)
Recordings
Box 5 20 Minutes of S.T.D. John O'Loudon 03/12/1954 - running time 0:20:00 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_007)
Box 13 A.I.A. Convention, Yosemite Discussion by RJN with Torraja for students of Architecture 10/22/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_111)
Box 8 An architect views a new world 03/15/1957 - not transcribed as of 4/27/57 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_047)
Box 12 Architects Religion 07/31/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_106)
Lecture: Valley Unitarian Church. First reel starting with reading by Neutra of excerpts from his book "Survival through Design" followed by two songs, accompanied on the cello and sung by Dione Neutra: Rispetto from Tuscany, 17th century Italian Ballade and Josef, liber Josef mein, 14th century German song. Rest of first reel and Side 2: Discussion between Richard and Raymond Neutra about his choosing a profession and what advice his father can offer him based on his own life.
Box 9 Architecture a Human Issue 11/26/1957 - lecture given in Cincinnati, Ohio 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_059)
Box 13 Architecture a Human issue 11/02/1960 - lecture at Mary Baldwin College 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_112)
Box 5 Architecture and Prophesy 03/24/1954 - Assistance League 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_008)
Box 10 Architecture Today Lecture at UCLA Schoneberg Hall 12/07/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_074)
Box 8 Architektur Aufnahme H.J. Grob 24/10/1956 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_045)
Box 6 Art and Science in Architecture Rembraudt Club 06/20/1955 - Pomona College Claremont 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_018)
Box 13 The Arts - a human value in a scientific age 02/05/1961 - Reel 2 continuation of Reel 1 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_115)
Box 13 The Arts - a human value in a scientific age 02/05/1961 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_116)
Box 13 The Arts - a human value in a scientific age 02/05/1961 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_117)
Box 13 The Arts - a human value in a scientific age tape recorded by own Ampex tape recorder 02/05/1961 - lecture at the San Fernando College 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_114)
Box 6 Aspen Conference 06/29/1954 - Continues on entire reel 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_017)
Box 9 Autobiographical Material 11/22/1957 - Tape #2 / Autobiographical material / RJN's experiences in foreign countries / Learning through the questions that are asked / Interviews by Dr. Mac Masters - Los Angeles Examiner 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_057)
Box 7 Autobiographical Montenegro 1st World War 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_034)
Box 7 Autobiographical Siegfrid's Doctor and Clinical Experience in Architecture and Medicine - 2nd Half Continuation of A-1 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_035)
Box 7 Autobiographical; Cusco Jail; Macao Church Ruin; Chinese Village 08/00/1956 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_036)
Box 9 Barbara Morgan 07/12/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_058 )
Box 9 Before Museum Member 05/02/1958 - lecture: RJN held before American Association of Museums 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_065)
Box 5 Ben Hunter Interview with Richard J. Neutra 11/12/1953 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_003)
Box 5 Biloxi Speech 09/01/1953 - Track #2 is free; running time 0:30:00 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_001)
Box 5 Biloxi Speech 09/01/1953 - Track #1 is free; running time 0:30:00 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_002)
Box 14 Cal Tech Lecture 11/20/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_127)
Box 12 California Architecture, Past, Present, and Future 03/12/1960 - Union Wilshire Ebelle Club luncheon talk; running time 0:28:00 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_098)
Box 7 Cavin Interview 06/01/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_029)
Box 5 The Challenge of Design Conceptions and Misconceptions 07/21/1954 - recorded at U.C.L.A.; running time 30 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_010)
Box 6 Charley McCarthy 01/30/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_020)
Box 11 Conversation with editor Elizabeth Emmanuel - Is Planning Possible 04/10/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_085)
Box 5 The Creative Process in Architecture 11/04/1953, 11/14/1953 - To Hacker Foundation. Note on box: Both tracks have been transcribed; running time 0:22:29 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_004)
Box 11 Cross of Merit Award by Pres. Heuss; Speech by General Consul, Reply by RJN 07/00/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_089)
Box 6 Dr. Hertz Home 1955 - Transcribed (both sides) April 14, 1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_021)
Box 14 Drucksache Einschreiben - Luftpost 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_125)
Box 12 Dusseldorf Theater 11/01/1959 - Mr. Neutra translating notes on a theater designed for Dusseldorf 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_094)
Box 11 Early Sunrise Thoughts 02/13/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_081)
Box 9 The European and American University Conversation With Fred Mayer, Albert Werner 08/22/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_055)
Box 13 Explanation by RJN of what he wants to achieve with Autobiography as recorded with Mr. Carlisle, N.Y.C. 10/02/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_110)
Box 8 First Conference on the R.J.N. - Movie Picture 05/09/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_046)
Box 11 Garden Grove Meeting 01/22/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_080)
Box 11 Glendale College 11/13/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_093)
Box 10 The Impact of Science on your Life, Naval Civil Engineering Lab. Port Hueneme, California 12/18/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_076)
Box 10 The Impact of Science on Your Life Part 2, Naval Civil Engineering Lab Port Hueneme, California 12/18/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_077)
Box 13 Int. Theater colloquium RJN's physiological ideas on theater and spectator 11/28/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_113)
Box 9 Interview by Dr. Mac Masters - Los Angeles Examiner 11/22/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_056)
Box 5 Interview for Cavalcade of Books 02/15/1954 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_005)
Box 8 Interview for Mrs. Carl Samuelson 04/28/1957 - for City College paper on Richard Neutra 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_050)
Box 14 Interview Ostorr. Fernsehen 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_122)
Box 11 Interview with Charlotte Buhler How to frustrate creativity 07/00/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_088)
Box 11 Interview, DN with Miss Johanne Schmidt, Munich. RJN as seen by wife 03/00/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_084)
Box 7 Interviw Dr. Neutra 05/00/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_030)
Box 10 Introduction UCLA Exhibit opening St. Barbara 01/12/1959 - 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_079)
Lecture, Santa Barbara Museum Library. Opening of one man show UCLA. Speaks how many helpers an architect has. Passion of empathy for clients. How architecture is experienced through many portals. Visions, explains Greek idea of heaven etc. Much audience laughter. Tape includes description of slides. African landscapes buildings, Residences Brown, Hammerman, Kronish, Troxell, Perkins, Steller, Rados Chase, Slavin, Tremaine, Kaufman
Box 6 Kingsley Art Club - transcribed April 13, 1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_023)
Box 7 Lecture - Before The "Seakchers" Clarion Hall - "A New Shape To Our World" 02/18/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_042)
Box 6 Lecture at the International Institute of Design 06/29/1954 - Play both sides of the tape; the second side of this reel is the continuation of the first side. The recording is concluded on the first side of reel II. Recorded by Stanley Tonkel 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_016)
Box 7 Lecture by RJN AIA Jul, 10 1956 Atheletic Club L.A. 07/10/1956 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_032)
Box 10 Lecture given to Landscape architects "Man in his organic setting" 12/03/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_073)
Box 11 Lecture given to Tulsa Engineers May 8 1959 05/08/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_087)
Box 8 Lecture of RJN - Arch. Panel 04/12/1963 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_048)
Box 12 Lecture to Southwest Conference to Unitarian Ministers: The role of the architect in Religion 02/20/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_096)
Box 8 Left to Right and Back again 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_051)
Box 10 Life and Human Habitat, State College, Ames, Iowa 10/23/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_071)
Box 11 Lifetime should be the amortization period of a good house 02/27/1959 - lecture to Harvard Club 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_083)
Box 7 Long Beach Rotarians"What Will The Neighbors Think?" Beckstrand Introducing 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_039)
Box 6 Los Feliz Forum Lecture Part 1 08/10/1955 - transcribed 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_024)
Box 6 Los Feliz Forum Lecture Part 2 08/10/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_025)
Box 6 Los Feliz Forum Lecture Part 3 08/10/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_026)
Box 7 Main Address 05/31/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_031)
Box 9 Man the Measure 09/30/1958 - delivered at: UCLA Scripps Institute of Oceanography; Neutra's Lecture Tuesday Eve 12:00 - 30 Sept. 1958; 510 Lecture Room - Library Bldg. To be transcribed 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_066)
Box 10 Man the measure - Radical Roots in Architecture 11/20/1958 - lecture California Institute of Technology 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_072)
Box 13 The Mission of Housing Americans 08/19/1960 - lecture given at Stanford University. Keynote address at Architect and Home builder Design clinic. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_108)
Box 14 The Most Precious Material 10/19/1962 - lecture in Zagreb Yugoslavia 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_123)
Box 13 Munich - Interview over radio Munich 00/00/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_109)
Box 7 Neutra - Library 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_041)
Box 9 North Caroline State College- RJN Seminar Part 1 12/01/1957 - talks with students on carious subjects of a week seminar; Raleigh, N.C. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_060)
Box 9 North Caroline State College- RJN Seminar Part 2 12/01/1957 - talks with students on carious subjects of a week seminar; Raleigh, N.C. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_061)
Box 9 North Caroline State College- RJN Seminar Part 3 12/01/1957 - talks with students on carious subjects of a week seminar; Raleigh, N.C. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_062)
Box 9 North Caroline State College- RJN Seminar Part 4 12/01/1957 - talks with students on carious subjects of a week seminar; Raleigh, N.C. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_063)
Box 9 North Caroline State College- RJN Seminar Part 5 12/01/1957 - talks with students on carious subjects of a week seminar; Raleigh, N.C. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_064)
Box 6 Ojai Happy Valley 03/01/1955 - transcribed April 12, 1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_022)
Box 11 Oklahoma State Univ. 11/03/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_091)
Box 12 Painted Desert Project 05/08/1960 - D Yonker 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_100)
Box 12 The Place of the Human Being in Today's Progess 02/26/1960 - lecture to Pierce College; running time 0:31:00 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_097)
Box 10 Pomeroy Consultation Dec 1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_075)
Box 10 R.J. Neutra discusses with a student the problems of designing Constance Perkins House 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_067)
Box 7 Reels 1 and 2 Notre Dame - re-recording 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_037)
Box 7 Reels 3 and 4 - re-recording 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_038)
Box 12 The Religion of An Architect 05/22/1960 - First Unitarian Church of Los Angeles 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_101)
Box 14 Richard J. Neutra Institute 04/21/1963 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_120)
Box 10 Richard Neutra Talk Des Moines Art Center 10/14/1958 - Part 1 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_068)
Box 10 Richard Neutra Talk Des Moines Art Center 10/14/1958 - Part 2 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_069)
Box 8 RJN Lecture at Art Educators Convention 04/17/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_044)
Box 12 RJN's Interview with Uruguayan Architects 05/31/1960 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_103)
Box 7 Roots of Calif. Arch. Summer 1956 00/00/1956 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_033)
Box 12 Sad Evening Thoughts 12/12/1959 - speaks about his collaborators and team work 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_095)
Box 6 San Francisco Museum 12/06/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_027)
Box 6 San Francisco Museum of Art 12/06/1955 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_028)
Box 9 Santa Barbara Lecture Part 1 - Dr. Baer, Art Department 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_053)
Box 9 Santa Barbara Lecture Part 2 - Dr. Baer, Art Department 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_054)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_136)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #1 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_129)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #2 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_130)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #3 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_131)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #4 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_132)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #5 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_133)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #7 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_134)
Box 8 Santa Barbara Speech Dictabelt #9 Dictabelt* (ID#: neutra_rj_135)
Box 5 Sayewild Art Conference 08/25/1954 - Partly transcribed on 11/24/1954; running time 15 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_013)
Box 6 Second part of Symposium: Mrs. Weigle - After a port of introduction, there was no sound on tape 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_015)
Box 5 Sendewagen 01/01/1954 - Tape Copy for Richard Neutra / Note on box: S.D.A. #199 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_011)
Box 5 "S.T.D." Art Directors Club 06/11/1954 - running time 60 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_009)
Box 14 Sum and Substance 03/02/1963 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_124)
Box 11 Survival 02/13/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_082)
Box 6 Survival Through Design 06/24/1955 - Verdugo Hills Art Association 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_019)
Box 11 Talk to Raymond's Class 07/31/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_090)
Box 10 Talk with collaborators about checking working plans and how to draw plan that contractors understand working plans 01/02/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_078)
Box 5 Tape Copy for Richard Neutra - S.D.A. #201 / Auditioned 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_012)
Box 8 Tapes from AIA Chicago Chap. June Dinner Meeting, to be returned after transportation - Cannot be transcribed 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_049)
Box 12 Text of book to be edited by J. Carlos on philosophy and attitude of the architect to clients and others. Also letter to Carlos. 05/25/1960 - interview with Mr. Sonnenberg to be used in Arch. Engineering News. Editor Mr. Carlos. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_102)
Box 5 Theory of School Design 07/08/1954 - Dr. Seagers; Indiana Un. / 1st side transcribed 11/05/1954 / 2nd side transcribed 11/08/1954 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_014)
Box 14 To Mr. and Mrs. Richard Neutra 2300 Silverlake Blvd 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_126)
Box 8 To: KFBK Sacramento, Calif. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_052)
Box 5 Unitarian Church 03/07/1954 - note on box: Transcribed 10/19/1956; running time 1:00:00 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_006)
Box 11 Unitarian Church San Diego 04/16/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_086)
Box 11 Univ of Oklahoma 11/03/1959 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_092)
Box 12 Utility - Or More? 05/19/1960 - lecture at University of Utah. Annual Dinner Meeting of Utah Chapter A.I.A. and Arch. Dept. of Utah Un. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_104)
Box 7 Voice of America 05/08/1957 - the city of the future; German Interview with Walter Ducloux Voice of America for broadcast in West Germany 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_040)
Box 10 Washington University Assembly Series Richard J. Neutra, F.A.I.A. "Man, the Measure" 10/22/1958 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_070)
Box 12 Who is the Client of the Architect 04/30/1960 - Awards Banquet / California State Polytechnic College, San Luis Obispo / With gratitude and compliments! 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_099)
Box 12 World Reconstruction 04/24/1960 - lecture: Chapman College, Orange, Cal. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_105)
Box 8 Yale Lecture; Dept. of Architecture; School of Fine Arts 04/15/1957 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_043)
Box 12 [No Title] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_107)
Box 13 [No Title] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_118)
Box 13 [No Title] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_119)
Box 14 [No Title] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_121)
Box 14 [No Title] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: neutra_rj_128)
Writings
Box 2 Essays, A-S (7 folders)
Box 3 Essays, T-Z (1 folder)
Notes
Box 3 General 1953-1966, undated (2 folders)
Projects
Box 3 Orange County Court House
See also Drawings: Original architectural drawings.
Box 3 Tower of Hope
Box 3 VDL House
Box 3 West Pakistan University
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 3 Richard J. Neutra and Associates
Box 3 Richard J. Neutra Foundation
Box 3 Richard J. Neutra Institute
Box 3 Speeches, A-Z (4 folders)