Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Kay Shaw Nelson Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 15 Sep 2008

Revision history:
21 Dec 2010 processed (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Nelson, Kay Shaw
Title: Kay Shaw Nelson Papers
Dates: 1950-1980
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of American and international menus, recipes, cookbooks.
Language: English, numerous other languages.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Kay Shaw Nelson is an American writer and researcher on a variety of current and historical topics relating to food and travel.

Born in Hanover, New Hampshire, Ms. Nelson graduated from Syracuse University in 1948 with a degree in Russian studies and journalism. She worked as a reporter for several New Hampshire newspapers before taking a job as an intelligence officer for the CIA. Beginning in 1951, she and her husband Wayne, also a CIA intelligence officer, spent many years abroad in the Middle East, the Far East, Europe, Africa, North and South America, and the Caribbean. In 1997 she wrote an introduction entitled "How to go from spies to pies: Operation Gastronomy" for the best-selling cookbook Spies, Black Ties, & Mango Pies: Stories and Recipes from CIA Families All Over the World. The author of numerous cookbooks and hundreds of articles in national publications such as the Washington Post, Gourmet, Woman's Day, and Family Circle, she is also a newspaper columnist and culinary historian.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

"Menu" comes from the Latin "minutus," meaning "small" or "detailed." One of the earliest known menus as print artifact dates from 1541, when the Duke of Brunswick compiled a list of dining options for his guests. Prior to this, early menus were usually intended for the chef, not the guests, as a set of instructions for the order of dishes. The individual menu reached its height in the early 19th century, and many of Europe's most talented artists illustrated them.

The Kay Shaw Nelson Papers consists of clippings, ethnic and regional recipes and cookbooks, menus, and miscellany. The majority of the collection consists of menus dating from the 1950s to the present, representing a wide range of nationalities, ethnicities, cuisines and occasions. In addition to samples from across the United States, the collection contains examples from Asia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Corsica, Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russia, Scotland, Spain, St. Lucia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, and other countries. The collection is particularly strong in Germany, Australia, the British Isles, and Asia. Airline and ship menus are also represented.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not yet been processed and remains in original order (grouped geographically) as received.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Many of the cookbooks donated with the menu collection have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Nelson, Kay Shaw.

Subjects

Dinners and dining.
Gastronomy -- History.
International cooking.
Menus.
Mormon cooking.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Cookbooks.
Menus.

Occupations

Women food writers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kay Shaw Nelson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Kay Shaw Nelson, 2008.


Table of Contents

Clippings

Ethnic and regional cooking

Ingredients

Menus

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Clippings
Alice B. Toklas
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
Mrs. Beeton
Portugal
Miscellaneous
Ethnic and regional cooking
General
Arabia
China
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany
Hungary
Iceland
Italy
Japan
Mexico
Morocco
New Zealand
Norway
Spain
Switzerland
Turkey
United States
General
Alabama
Delaware
Florida
Hawaii
Kentucky
Louisians
Native American
Virginia
Ingredients
Bread and pasta
Garlic
Olive oil
Rice
Seafood (2 folders)
Miscellaneous
Menus
(need to retrieve these boxes and process)
Miscellaneous
ALCOA
Campbell's Soup
Holidays
Wine and food catalogs