Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Peter Neagoe Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Mar 2006



Biographical History

Peter Neagoe was born November 7, 1881, in Transylvania (now Romania). He attended the University of Bucharest, Romanian Academy of Fine Arts, and National Academy of Design (New York). He came to the United States in 1901, eventually becoming a naturalized U.S. citizen then relocated to Paris following World War I. During World War II he worked for the U.S. Office of War Information, preparing radio broadcasts for the Romanian people. He married married Anna Frankeul, an artist, on July 31, 1911. He died October 28, 1960, in Woodstock, NY.

Neagoe wrote essays, short stories, and novels, many about Romanian peasant life, and edited the periodical New Review as well as an anthology of stories and poems by many of Neagoe's fellow expatriates entitled Americans Abroad. While many of his stories had Romanian settings or characters, he also wrote a number of stories set in America. His characterization and style were praised by critics; regarding his book Easter Sun, a reviewer for the Times Literary Supplement wrote, "Mr. Neagoe writes with an unaffected simplicity perfectly adapted to his subject . . . and one feels that his peasant characters are created out of an intimate understanding, not merely observed." Neagoe also wrote a book of childhood reminiscences entitled Time to Keep, in which he describes his boyhood in Romania.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Peter Neagoe Papers consist of Biographical material, Books, Correspondence, Manuscripts, Memorabilia, and Production records.

Biographical material contains several typescript versions and a published version of David Sturdevant's monograph on Neagoe. Books consists of the Obelisk Press edition of Storm and some publicity fliers. All other published books by Neagoe or his wife have been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog or contact the repository listed above for further information.

Correspondence comprises incoming correspondence and some outgoing draft letters, mostly related to the publication of Americans Abroad, an anthology of expatriate prose, and Neagoe's book of short stories, Storm. Correspondence which is of greatest depth and duration includes that of Djuna Barnes, Alexander Berkman, Kay Boyle, William Aspenwall Bradley, Bob Brown, Whit Burnett, Emanuel Carnevali, John Cournos, John Dos Passos, James T. Farrell, Emma Goldman, Eugène Jolas, Alfred Margul-Sperber, Robert McAlmon, Henry Miller, Edward J. O'Brien, Ezra Pound, Samuel Putnam, Laura Riding, Richard Thoma, Laurence Vail, and William Carlos Williams.

Manuscripts, by far the majority of the collection, comprises manuscripts, typescripts, drafts and notes for more than fifty of Neagoe's stories and novels as well as miscellaneous notes on story ideas.

Memorabilia consists of clippings and photos [Processor's note: as of 7 Nov 2006, the photographs were missing.]

Production records contains printers' layouts and covers for four of Neagoe's books and some material from Syracuse University Press. With the exception of the Obelisk Press edition of Storm (Box 11), all

There is an additional box (Box 12) that has not yet been processed. Please contact the repository listed above for further information.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A number of books by both Peter Neagoe and his wife have been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog


Subject Headings

Persons

Aiken, Conrad, 1889-1973.
Bald, Wambly.
Barnes, Djuna.
Barr, Alfred Hamilton. Jr., 1902-1981.
Berkman, Alexander, 1870-1936.
Boschère, Jean de, 1878-1953.
Boyle, Kay, 1902-1992.
Bradley, William Aspenwall, 1878-1939.
Breton, André.
Brown, Bob, 1886-1959.
Burnett, Whit, 1899-1973.
Cannell, Kathleen.
Cappon, Alexander Patterson, 1900-
Carnevali, Emanuel.
Charpentier, Albert, 1872-
Coleman, Emily Holmes, 1899-1974.
Cotruș, Aron, 1891-1961.
Cournos, John, 1881-1966.
Cowley, Malcolm, 1898-1989.
Crosby, Caresse, 1892-1970.
Diamant, Gertrude, 1901-
Dos Passos, John, 1896-1970.
Fadiman, Clifton, 1904-1999.
Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979.
Foley, Martha.
Ford, Charles Henri.
Fraenkel, Michael, 1896-1957.
Gillespie, Abraham Lincoln, 1895-1950.
Goldman, Emma, 1869-1940.
Guggenheim, Peggy, 1898-1979.
Hersch, Virginia, 1896-
Jolas, Eugène, 1894-1952.
Jolas, M.
Kahane, Jack, 1887-1939.
Kamin, Martin.
Kreymborg, Alfred, 1883-1966.
Larsson, Raymond Ellsworth, 1901-1991.
Lhevinne, Isador, 1896-
Llona, Victor.
Loving, Pierre, 1893-
Mangan, Sherry, 1904-
Margul-Sperber, Alfred, 1898-1967.
McAlmon, Robert, 1896-1956.
Mencken, H. L. (Henry Louis), 1880-1956.
Miller, Henry, 1891-1980
Neagoe, Anna.
Neagoe, Peter -- Americans abroad.
Neagoe, Peter -- Storm.
Neagoe, Peter.
O'Brien, Edward J. (Edward Joseph), 1890-1941.
Orage, A. R. (Alfred Richard), 1873-1934.
Owens, Philip.
Perlès, Alfred.
Pound, Ezra, 1885-1972.
Putnam, Samuel, 1892-1950.
Reavey, George, 1907-1976.
Riding, Laura, 1901-1991.
Rodman, Selden, 1909-2002.
Rosenfeld, Paul, 1890-1946.
Schrank, Joseph.
Targ, William, 1907-
Thoma, Richard, 1874-1957.
Vail, Laurence, 1891-1968.
Williams, William Carlos, 1883-1963.

Subjects

Authors, American -- France -- Paris.
American fiction -- 20th century.
American literature -- 20th century.
American literature -- Slovenian American authors.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Authors, American -- Europe.
Authors, American.
Exiles' writings.
Expatriate painters -- France.
Novelists, American.
Painters -- United States.
Romanian Americans.

Places

Paris (France) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Drawings.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Novelists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Peter Neagoe Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anna Neagoe, 1976-1984.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Books

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Memorabilia

Production records


Inventory