Collection inventory


Finding Aids

National Committee of Negro Churchmen Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 2 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: National Committee of Negro Churchmen (U.S.)
Title: National Committee of Negro Churchmen Collection
Dates: 1966-1969
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Constitution, formal statements, press releases, reprints of articles relating to the African-American religious organization.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The National Committee of Negro Churchmen (NCNC) was formally organized in Dallas, Texas in November of 1967, although the group had issued statements on various subjects as far back as July of 1966. According to a Time magazine article ("Churches: Black Power in the Pulpit," 17 Nov 1967), the committee was "composed of 300 members from twelve Protestant denominations" and its purpose was "to arouse Negro churches to a keener awareness of their own responsibilities... to form a nonprofit corporation that will solicit funds from Negro congregations and other sources to finance housing and small businesses in urban ghettos...[and] to help Negroes in predominantly white churches achieve a greater voice in policy." The Committee is considered an early example of Black Liberation Theology.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National Committee of Negro Churchmen Collection consists of the organization's Constitution, several formal statements issued by various members, press releases, and reprints of articles relating to the NCNC.


Arrangement of the Collection

The Constitution appears first, followed by statements, press releases, and reprints of article.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

National Committee of Negro Churchmen (U.S.)

Subjects

African Americans -- Religion.
Black theology.
Liberation theology.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Constitutions.
Press releases.
Reprints.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National Comittee of Negro Churchmen Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 553 Constitution, press releases, formal statements, reprints of articles 1966-1969