Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

National Cartoonists Society Interviews

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 15 Feb 2011



Biographical History

The National Cartoonists Society grew out of the so-called "chalk talks" that a number of cartoonists did for the troops during World War II. The Society was officially formed in March of 1946 with Rube Goldberg as its first president. Within two weeks, the society had 32 members. As of 2011, the Society has 16 regional chapters and continues to foster cartoonists' involvement in worthy causes. See the NCS website at http://www.reuben.org for more information.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National Cartoonists Society Interviews contains audio recordings of interviews with more than twenty notable cartoonists, both individually and in panel formats. The interviewers are subdivided by interviewee; 25 tapes (plus 50 duplicates) contain interviews conducted by cartoonist Bill Crawford and 10 tapes (plus 20 duplicates) contain interviews conducted by cartoonist Vernon Greene.

Of particular interest are the panels on Pulitzer Prize winners and on Russian cartoonists. In addition there are individual interviews with Mort Walker (Beetle Bailey), Milt Caniff (Terry and the Pirates, Steve Canyon), Otto Soglow (The Little King), Jimmy Hatlo (They'll Do It Every Time), sports cartoonist Willard Mullin, and Pulitzer Prize winners Bill Mauldin, Herbert Block, Rube Goldberg, and many others.


Arrangement of the Collection

Tapes have been assigned identification numbers and are stored in numeric order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Some of the collection has been digitized. Please contact the repository for more information.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Block, Herbert, 1909-2001.
Campbell, E. Simms (Elmer Simms), 1906-1971.
Caniff, Milton Arthur, 1907-1988.
Capp, Al, 1909-1979.
D'Alessio, Gregory.
Fitzpatrick, Daniel Robert, 1891-1969.
Gill, Tom.
Goldberg, Rube, 1883-1970.
Greene, Vernon Van Atta.
Hatlo, Jimmy, 1898-1963.
Hirschfeld, Al.
Holman, Bill, 1903-1987.
Illingworth, Leslie Gilbert, 1902-1979.
Lewis, Ross A. (Ross Aubrey), 1902-1977.
Lichty, George Maurice, 1905-1983.
Little, Tom, b. 1898.
Low, David, 1891-1963.
Mauldin, Bill, 1921-2003.
Mullin, Willard, 1902-1978.
Patterson, Russell, 1893-1977.
Searle, Ronald, 1920-2011.
Soglow, Otto, 1900-1975.
Swinnerton, Jimmy, 1875-1974.
Walker, Mort.
White, David Manning.

Corporate Bodies

National Cartoonists Society.

Subjects

Caricatures and cartoons -- United States..
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Editorial cartoonists -- United States..
Editorial cartoons -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiorecordings.
Interviews.

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Editorial cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National Cartoonists Society,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified.


Table of Contents

Recordings, audio


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Some of the collection has been digitized. Please contact the repository for more information.