Collection inventory


Finding Aids

National Association of Schools of Art (U.S.) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: 29 Sep 1978

Revision history:
6 May 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: National Association of Schools of Art (U.S.)
Title: National Association of Schools of Art (U.S.) Records
Dates: 1944-1979
Quantity: 11.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Organizational records, including correspondence (1960-1975); membership lists (1946-1956); minutes (1949-1974), reports; and treasurers' records (1948-1956).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The National Association of Schools of Art (NASA) was founded in 1944 as the National Association of Schools of Design (NASD). In 1966, it became the National Association of Schools of Art, and in 1981 it became the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD).

NASAD member schools of art and design are primarily at the college level, but include postsecondary non-degree-granting schools for the visual arts. NASAD is the national accrediting agency for art and design and art and design-related disciplines. The Association also provides information to the public, produces statistical research, provides professional development for leaders of art and design schools, and engages in policy analysis.

[Adapted from NASAD website, http://nasad.arts-accredit.org.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National Association of Schools of Art (U.S.) Records consists of general files, treasurer's records, and miscellaneous. The collection includes some unprocessed additions not reflected in this inventory.


Arrangement of the Collection

Files are arranged roughly alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has many collections relating to art and artists of all types -- sculptors, illustrators, painters, designers, cartoonists, and more. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

National Association of Schools of Art (U.S.) -- Archives.
National Association of Schools of Art and Design (U.S.) -- Archives.

Subjects

Art -- Study and teaching.
Art schools -- Societies, etc.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Correspondence.
Membership lists.
Minutes.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National Association of Schools of Art (U.S.) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

General files

Treasurer's records

Miscellaneous


Inventory

General files
Accreditation
Box 1 Comments on
Box 1 Meetings 1951
Accreditation Committee
Box 1 Questionnaire
Box 1 Interim report
Box 1 Talks on
Box 1 National Committee correspondence
Admissions
Box 1 Reapplication for NASD (National Association of Schools of Design) 1951
Box 1 Questionnaire
Box 1 Admissions and Accreditation Procedures Handbook
Box 1 Affidavits
Box 1 Akron Art Institute
Box 1 Alabama Polytechnic Institute
Box 1 Alabama University
Box 1 Albright Art School
Box 1 Alcott, John E.
Box 1 Alfred University
Box 1 Analysis Guide
Box 1 Archives
Box 1 Art Academy of Cincinnati
Box 1 Art Center School
Box 1 Art Department
Box 1 Art School of The Art Institute of Chicago (2 folders)
Box 1 Art School Society of Arts and Crafts
Box 1 Atlanta Art Institute
Box 1 Auburn University (Alabama)
Box 1 Bach, Richard F.
Box 1 Bulletin
Box 1 California College of Arts and Crafts (2 folders)
Box 2 California Institute of the Arts
Box 2 California School of Fine Arts
Box 2 Careers In Art
Box 2 Carnegie Institute of Technology
Box 2 J.C. Chambers
Box 2 Chicago, The School of the Art Institute of
Box 2 Chouinard Art Institute
Box 2 Cincinnati, Art Academy of
Box 2 Cincinnati, University of
Box 2 Citations
Box 2 Cleveland Institute of Art, The
Committees
Box 2 Fellow and Citation
Box 2 Standards Information
Box 2 Competition procedures 1949, 1955, 1956-1957
Box 2 Completed copy
Conference
Box 2 Second NASD (National Association of Schools of Design) 1944-1946
Box 2 Annual, Oct. 16-18 1954
Box 2 Constitution and by-laws 1948-1949, 1952-1955, 1960-1963, 1970, 1976
Constitution, NASD (National Association of Schools of Design)
Box 2 Old amendments
Box 2 Constitution
Box 2 Cooper Union Art School
Correspondence
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Pre-1960
Box 2 1960-1963 (5 folders)
Box 3 1964-1968, 1971, 1973-1975 (11 folders)
Box 3 Correspondence, NASD (National Association of Schools of Design) 1949, 1951-1960 (14 folders)
Box 3 Cranbrook Academy of Art
Box 3 Dayton Art Institute
Box 4 M. Descours
Box 4 Directory
Box 4 Division III
Box 4 Faculty suggestions
Box 4 Farnum, Royal B.
Box 4 Forms
Box 4 General information regarding NASD
Box 4 Hartford University
Box 4 John Herron Art School, The
Box 4 Herron Art School
Box 4 Higher education
Box 4 Hudson, Kenneth E.
Box 4 Illinois, University of
Box 4 Kansas City Art Institute
Box 4 Kansas City Art Institute and School of Design
Box 4 Kansas, University of
Box 4 J. Lander
Box 4 Layton School of Art
Box 4 Letters to NASD members
Box 4 List of Material sent out according to date
Box 4 Maryland Institute
Box 4 Massachusetts School of Art
Box 4 Membership Lists, NASD 1946-1947, 1951-1956 (5 folders)
Box 4 Membership Lists and Rosters, NASD
NASA (National Association of Schools of Art)
Box 4 Preparations for meetings 1965, 1966
Box 4 Annual meeting 1961
Minutes of annual meetings
Box 4 Third Nov. 28, 1949
Box 4 Fourth Nov. 27-28, 1950
Box 4 Fifth Nov. 25-28, 1951
Box 4 Seventh Oct. 16-19, 1953
Box 5 Eighth 1954
Box 5 Ninth Oct. 15-17 1955
Box 5 Eleventh Oct. 1957
Box 5 Twelfth Oct. 1958
Box 5 Fourteenth Oct. 1960
Box 5 Fifteenth Oct. 1961
Box 5 Sixteenth Oct. 1962
Box 5 Seventeenth Oct. 1963
Box 5 Eighteenth Oct. 1964
Box 5 1971
Box 5 1972
Box 5 1974
Box 5 Annual meeting, program for 1956
Box 5 Supplement to NASD Minutes of Jan. 1953
Box 5 Board of Directors minutes 1948-1951, 1953, 1955-1961 (11 folders)
Box 5 Board of Directors regular meeting minutes 1970-1974, 1977 (7 folders)
Box 5 NASD National Conference at C.I.A. 1947
Box 5 Conference on Accreditation (2 folders)
Box 5 Executive Board meeting 1949, 1954 (2 folders)
Box 5 Meeting of Executive Committee 1952
Box 5 Executive Board meeting minutes Jan. 6, 1951; May 19, 1951 (2 folders)
Box 5 NASD meetings 1953
Box 5 Memphis Academy of the Arts
Box 5 Michigan, University of
Box 5 Middle States Association
Box 5 Minneapolis School of Art
NASA minutes and reports
Box 5 1960-1962 (3 folders)
Box 6 1963-1964 (2 folders)
Box 6 NASA minutes of Board meeting 1967-1969 (9 folders)
Box 6 Moore Institute of Art, Science, and Industry
Box 6 Museum of Fine Arts, The School
Box 6 NASA 1947-1949, 1961-1966, 1972-1974 (10 folders)
Box 6 NASA Discussion Section reports 1964-1966
Box 6 NASA rewrite
Box 6 National Conference of Schools of Design 1947-1948
Box 6 NASA supplies on file
Box 6 National Council on Art
Box 6 NASD miscellaneous 1964
Box 6 NASD permanent mailing roster
Box 6 NASD releases 1949-1955
Box 7 NCATE (National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education) Meeting, Chicago
Box 7 New York University
Box 7 Officers of NASD list
Box 7 Panel discussions 1949 (3 folders)
Box 7 Parson's School of Design
Box 7 Past inquiries (5 folders)
Box 7 Pickering, Ernest
Box 7 Philadelphia Museum School
Box 7 Portland Museum Art School
Box 7 Postcards
Box 8 Pratt Institute
Box 8 President's Page (The)
Box 8 Press releases 1950
Box 8 Professional Art Education Association
Box 8 Professional School Analysis Guide Apr. 15, 1957
Box 8 Publications
Box 8 Publications pending
Box 8 Questionnaires (2 folders)
Box 8 NASD questionnaires 1949, 1955 (2 folders)
Box 8 Regionals
Box 8 Report of progress to members 1950
Box 8 Report on Washington Conference 1950
Box 8 Requests for rosters 1957, 1958-1959 (2 folders)
Box 8 Requests for NASA directory
Box 8 Rhode Island School of Design
Box 8 Rice, Harold R.
Box 8 Rochester Institute of Technology
Box 8 Roll call
Box 8 Roster 1957-1962, 1964 (7 folders)
Box 8 San Francisco Art Institute
Box 8 Silvermine College of Art
Box 8 Special NASA appointments
Box 8 Statement of Purpose, NASD
Box 8 Surveys
Box 8 Syracuse University
Box 8 United States Government Publications
Box 8 Upholstery And Leather Group
Box 8 Fredrick Wallace
Box 8 Washington School of Art
Box 8 Washington University
Box 8 Worchester Art Museum
Treasurer's records
Box 8 Miscellaneous 1948-1956 (8 folders)
Membership dues
Box 8 1969-1970
Box 8 1970-1971
1971-1972
Box 8 Division I
Box 8 Division II
Box 8 Division III
1972-1973
Box 9 Division I
Box 9 Division II
Box 9 Division III
Box 9 Cash receipts 1969-1973 (3 folders)
Box 9 Bills paid 1969-1970
Membership 1973-1974
Box 9 Div. I
Box 9 Div. II
Box 9 Div. III
Box 9 Div. V
Box 9 Cash disbursements 1970-1973 (3 folders)
Box 9 Cash receipts and disbursements 1975
Box 9 Annual meeting notes and back-up material 1972
Box 9 Cash receipts, Fiscal Year 1971-1972
Box 9 Fiscal Year pending
Box 9 General non-current
Box 9 Telephone credit card numbers
Box 9 Annual Meeting (Texas) 1971
Box 9 Annual Meeting (Atlanta) Oct. 22-24, 1970
Box 9 Spring Board Meeting, Milwaukee 1970
Box 9 R.C. Rathbone and Co.
Box 9 Journal
Box 9 Treasurer's reports 1949-1950, 1955-1956 (3 folders)
Box 9 Duties of Secretary and National Office
Box 9 East Carolina College Account
Box 10 Bank statements 1970-1974 (4 folders)
Box 10 Check stub records Jan 1968-Jan 1973 (3 folders)
Box 10 Magnetic cards
Box 10 Microfilms (6 reels)
Miscellaneous
Box 10 Miscellaneous (5 folders)
Oversize 1 Micsellaneous oversize