Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Fridtjof Nansen Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Nansen, Fridtjof, 1861-1930.
Title: Fridtjof Nansen Letters
Dates: 1921-1922
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two letters from the Norwegian explorer, one to a student, Olav Mosby, and the other to William Melland of the Russian Famine Relief Fund.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Fridtjof Nansen (1861-1930) was a Norwegian explorer and scientist, specializing in zoology and oceanography. He made several expeditions to Greenland and the Arctic, and was a professor at the University of Oslo (then called the University of Kristiania). He was also active in politics, serving as Norwegian envoy to London and as a High Commissioner of the League of Nations, and assisting the Red Cross in organizing a relief program during the Russian Famine of 1921-1922. For the latter, and for his other humanitarian work, he received the Nobel Peace Prize of 1922.

The Fridtjof Nansen Foundation and Institute, established in 1958, undertakes research within Nansen's interest areas, including marine affairs, biodiversity, and energy and environmental politics.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fridtjof Nansen Letters consists of two letters from the Norwegian explorer and scientist. One is to a student, Olav Mosby, who was evidently working with Nansen on some project (the letter asks him to "forward the material you have finished"). The other is to William Melland, treasurer of the Russian Famine Relief Fund in Manchester, England, expressing Nansen's admiration and gratitude for the Fund's work.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Nansen, Fridtjof, 1861-1930.

Corporate Bodies

Russian Famine Relief Fund.

Subjects

Explorers -- Norway.

Places

Soviet Union -- Famines.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fridtjof Nansen Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969; gift, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1921-1922 - two letters from Nansen