Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Nanking Incident Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: -
Date: March 2003

Biographical History

The Nanking Incident occurred on March 21-23, 1927 when Kuomintang (Chinese Nationalist) troops entered the city as part of their Northern Expedition military campaign (1926-1928). Troops particularly targeted the city's foreign residents; several were killed or injured and their property looted, and the American, Japanese and British consulates were attacked. Western and Japanese warships on the river responded by shelling Chinese forces in an effort to stop the looting of the city. The Nationalist Government blamed "communists and their evil influences" for the disturbance.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nanking Incident Collection consists of clippings, statements, and letters. Authors of the items include private citizens as well as the University of Nanking, the China Christian Educational Association, the acting president of Central China University, and Canton Union Theological College.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Brown, Fred R., 1888-1966.
Pryor, Helen (Brenton) 1897-

Corporate Bodies

China Christian Educational Association.


Communism -- China.
Zhongguo guo min dang.


China -- History -- Military
Nanjing (Jiangsu Sheng, China) -- History

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Letters (correspondence)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nanking Incident Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Descriptions of the Nanking incident

Correspondence and reports