Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Carl and Carlotta Myers Ballooning Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Feb 2015

Revision history:
9 Mar 2016 typo (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Myers, Carl E.
Title: Carl and Carlotta Myers Ballooning Collection
Dates: 1879-1880
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printed material relating to the ballooning exploits of Carl E. and Mary "Carlotta" Myers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carl E. Myers and his wife Mary H. "Carlotta" Myers were early aeronautical engineers and balloonists. Carl was a photographer, inventor, meteorologist and self-taught scientist, while his wife Mary, sometimes billed as "The Aerial Princess" and "The Lady Aeronaut," came from Boston. Together the husband-and-wife team, based in Mohawk, New York, researched new techniques and methods in aerial navigation, produced weather balloons for the US Department of Agriculture, and traveled the country giving exhibition ascents. Among their notable achievements was an ascent to 21,000 feet, a height most professionals today would not attempt without oxygen and a pressurized cabin.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carl and Carlotta Myers Ballooning Collection consists of several pieces of printed material relating to appearances and achievements of the husband-and-wife aeronautical team. Also in the folder, though not formally part of the collection, are copies of several historical articles that provide history and context.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Myers, Carl E.
Myers, Carlotta, 1849-1932.

Associated Titles

The balloon record.

Subjects

Ballooning -- History -- 19th century.
Balloonists -- History.
Balloons -- History.

Places

Mohawk (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Broadsides.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carl E. Myers Ballooning Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 729 Miscellaneous 1879-1880