Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lee Mullican Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Jan 1994

Revision history:
17 Dec 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mullican, Lee, 1919-1998
Title: Lee Mullican Papers
Dates: 1947-1971
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, sculptor, educator. Collection includes artwork reproductions used in advertisements and for magazine covers and illustrations; articles and reviews (1950-1966); newspaper clippings (1952-1967), and exhibition catalogs and invitations (1949-1971) for group and one-person shows.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lee Mullican (1919-1998) was an American painter and art teacher known for his abstract and surrealist works, and an an influential member of the Dynaton Movement (1940s). Much of his work was influenced by the art and environment of the American Southwest. He received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1959 and was a member of the UCLA art faculty from 1962 to 1990.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lee Mullican Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, artwork reproductions, and memorabilia.

Correspondence contains one note, from 1955. Artwork reproductions includes advertisements, book and magazine covers, and Mullican's work as reproduced in magazines. Memorabilia consists of articles and reviews, newspaper clippings, exhibit catalogs and invitations, posters, publicity, and various other printed materials.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mullican, Lee, 1919-1998 -- Archives.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lee Mullican Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Artwork (reproductions)

Printed material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Box 1 Note 1955
Artwork (reproductions)
Box 1 [Miscellaneous] 1947-1964
Printed material
Box 1 Articles, reviews 1950-1966, undated
Box 1 Clippings 1952-1967, undated
Box 1 Exhibit catalogs, group shows 1957-1968, undated
Box 1 Exhibit catalogs, one-man shows 1949-1969
Box 1 Exhibit invitations 1950-1971, undated
Box 1 Exhibit posters 1961, undated
Box 1 Publicity for book undated
Box 1 Miscellaneous