Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 May 2009



Biographical History

Commemorative and thematic coins are coins issued to commemorate a particular person, place, or event, or highlight a particular issue or theme. They usually have an original and/or distinctive design relating to the purpose of issuance. Most serve as collectors items only, though on occasion some are put into regular circulation.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection consists of more than two hundred coins and medals struck for various purposes. Some fall into sets, others are single items. Most are still in their original packaging or encapsulation as issued. To assist in identifying items, the inventory below gives the number of items as well as the number and type of enclosure. Incomplete albums or sheets are noted.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to the collection requires the supervision of a Librarian or Curator.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Also of interest may be the merchants' scrip collection, found in the Central New York Trade Catalogs and Business Ephemera.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Franklin Mint.
Lincoln Mint.
Longines Symphonette.
Wittnauer Precious Metals Society.

Subjects

American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976 -- Collectibles.
Astronautics -- United States -- Collectibles.
Commemorative coins.
Presidents -- United States -- Collectibles.
United States -- History -- Collectibles.

Genres and Forms

Commemoratives.
Medallions.
Proof coins.

Occupations

Coin collectors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marion L. Mullen, 1990.


Table of Contents

Franklin Mint

Independence Hall Association

Lincoln Mint

Longines Symphonette

Royal Mint

Wittnauer Precious Metals Guild

Unidentified


Inventory